Thread Tools
Old Jul 17, 2007, 05:47 PM
Sir Raleigh is offline
Find More Posts by Sir Raleigh
Registered User
Question

How Do You Do A Range Check When You Fly By Yourself?


My wife helped me range check my new RTF when I brought it home but she doesn't go with me when I fly. I do check my control surfaces, but I can't range check it by myself.

How do you?
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 17, 2007, 05:53 PM
Jessdog is offline
Find More Posts by Jessdog
Let's ride!
Jessdog's Avatar
You can put a post it note at the end of the rudder so when you walk away from it, you can see if it's responding.
Old Jul 17, 2007, 06:02 PM
lampooner is offline
Find More Posts by lampooner
Registered User
Used to use a clothes pin made of popsicle sticks painted a bright color. Just slide onto a control surface.

--------------
---- Sandwich of two sticks and small piece
--------------
Old Jul 17, 2007, 06:28 PM
oldcoot88 is offline
Find More Posts by oldcoot88
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sir Raleigh
... I can't range check it by myself.

How do you?

Heh. No joke, my range check method is a strip of toilet paper hung in the window (window closed). I live on the second floor with the window facing up the street, so i just tie the plane in position so the propwash blows the TP up. Then walk up the street with the Tx, blipping the throttle while watching the TP.

IF there were ever a TP deflection without blipping the throttle, that would be cause for alarm but so far that hasn't happened.

oc88(Bill)
Old Jul 17, 2007, 06:51 PM
RyanPSU21 is offline
Find More Posts by RyanPSU21
Registered User
RyanPSU21's Avatar
If it's got landing gear then just set the plane on the ground. Put a piece of rope around the tail and stick like a screwdriver or something into the ground and tie the rope to it. Then you can walk away from the plane and power it up and down while moving the control surfaces.
Old Jul 17, 2007, 08:08 PM
Mark Wood is offline
Find More Posts by Mark Wood
characters welcome!
Mark Wood's Avatar
I leave the transmitter, pick up the plane and go for a walk. I wait to hear the servos start to grunt and twitch or the motor spins. I would rather have full hands on control of the plane since I've had them come to life in a big way when the Tx/Rx loses the link.

mw
Old Jul 17, 2007, 08:26 PM
Wrench_Head is offline
Find More Posts by Wrench_Head
Maybe Out Flying
I turn on the TX, put the battery in the plane, leave the TX antenna down, start the prop at a low speed, put the TX on the ground, hold the plane in the air and walk away from the TX about 33 steps or 100 feet. I listen for any servo noise or motor speed changes.
That appears to work for me.

Wrench_Head
Old Jul 17, 2007, 08:29 PM
foam and tape is online now
Find More Posts by foam and tape
Retardedly intelligent
foam and tape's Avatar
tape post it notes on the blades and slowly start it up.
Old Jul 17, 2007, 09:59 PM
Doc Austin is offline
Find More Posts by Doc Austin
Team Extreme Flight
Doc Austin's Avatar
Get it up real high and collapse the transmitter antenna. Now, there's a range check.






No, just kidding. Don't do that. However, I have forgotten to extend the antenna and flown a whole flight like that.
Last edited by Doc Austin; Jan 17, 2012 at 02:28 PM.
Old Jul 17, 2007, 11:00 PM
BillM is offline
Find More Posts by BillM
Registered User
Yes Doc. I too have flown an entire flight with the antenna colapsed. It was an incredibly short flight

BM
Old Jul 18, 2007, 01:28 AM
HELModels is offline
Find More Posts by HELModels
Registered User
HELModels's Avatar
I have a Berg4 and Futaba 4 channel conquest, when I pull the antenna on TX and then hook up battery, sometimes the berg doesnt boot correctly and servos hang up in deflected position. Tonight, I saw it do that again, so I purposely made sure neither RX or TX antennae were touching ground.

Is this normal for ground to prevent signal recognition? It boots fine if neither touches ground.

Normal range check with helper goes out to about 100 feet.


Harry
Old Jul 18, 2007, 02:21 AM
TheHobbyGuy is offline
Find More Posts by TheHobbyGuy
The Hobby Guy
I put the plane on the ground, walk a hundred feet away, move the sticks and the RUN VERY FAST back to the plane to see if anything moved. Only problem is, none of my radios work with this method. LOL! Just kidding - the other suggestions here are much better.
Old Jul 18, 2007, 06:31 AM
Azarr is offline
Find More Posts by Azarr
RIP Azarr - "Old age is not for sissies"
Azarr's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by HELModels
I have a Berg4 and Futaba 4 channel conquest, when I pull the antenna on TX and then hook up battery, sometimes the berg doesnt boot correctly and servos hang up in deflected position. Tonight, I saw it do that again, so I purposely made sure neither RX or TX antennae were touching ground.

Is this normal for ground to prevent signal recognition? It boots fine if neither touches ground.

Normal range check with helper goes out to about 100 feet.


Harry
Yes this is normal - ideally the aircraft (receiver) should be above the ground. Castle addresses this in their user guides on their web site.

Azarr
www.ecubedrc.com
Old Jul 18, 2007, 02:13 PM
Sir Raleigh is offline
Find More Posts by Sir Raleigh
Registered User
I'm just checking in to let you guys know I've been reading your posts. All of these suggestions/methods sound great and have given me some ideas to try.

Please keep the suggestions (and jokes) coming...

Thanks.

-Bill
Old Jul 18, 2007, 03:25 PM
SabreHawk is offline
Find More Posts by SabreHawk
Off we go.............
SabreHawk's Avatar
What,........ya'all aint never heard'a binoculars?


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion How often should I do a range check? ChuckA Xtreme Power Systems 5 Aug 16, 2007 09:18 AM
Question How to do a range check? matt28 Beginner Training Area (Aircraft-Electric) 15 Mar 02, 2007 06:09 AM
Discussion What is the correct way to do a range check? zkeller Radios 4 Jan 22, 2007 07:36 PM
how to do a range check? JLSalas Electric Plane Talk 19 May 09, 2003 11:42 PM
How far for ground range check? 30 metres? 80 metres? Ben C Electric Plane Talk 8 Jun 20, 2001 04:34 PM