JW Onyx (Louisville Area Soaring Society) - RC Groups
Jun 27, 2007, 10:47 AM
aka ben wilson
Build Log

JW Onyx (Louisville Area Soaring Society)

Hola! Ben Wilson here from the Louisville Area Soaring Society. I'm primarily a handlaunch guy, but I've got a soft spot for the big birds with long flights... I've owned only a handful of "bigger" ships in the past few years - a Super-V clone, a Majestic, the Polecat EZ Bubble Dancer and an Aegea Mantis that I've converted into a very Supra-esque machine, so I'm not a total noob, but I've still got some learning to do.

I fly in the OVSS, and last year I managed to win th "Rookie of the Year" award, presented to me by Marc "OVSSBoss" Gellart, which was a coupon from SoaringUSA.com. Normally I'm a DIY kinda guy, but when I saw SoaringUSA announce the redesigned JW (Joe Wurts) Onyx, I decided to make the jump to a molded plane! A tough decision, as I'd have to scrimp and save and pull in a little freelance web work to offset the cost (not to mention "relationship capital" expenditures!)

Why the Onyx JW?
I'm a big fan of Mark Drela's work on the Supra, and I've flown a litany of his designs and airfoils (including the molded Kennedy Supra), but I decided I'd give Joe's airfoils a shot as I already have a Supra-esque plane in my quiver. Having flown side-by-side with Mark and Joe at handlaunch contests, they are both excellent pilots, but they differ in their flying styles. Mark's designs seem to emphasize float over run, whereas the Icon seems to do the opposite. My Aegea Mantis is certainly more of a floater (and I love it!), but I wanted to branch out a bit...

My "specialty" (if I have one) when flying thermal-duration and handlaunch is working small stuff low to the ground, so I am thinking the JW Onyx will help me expand my soaring skills. I say this without necessarily knowing the characteristics of the airfoil, so we'll see how close I get to my assumptions.

SoaringUSA.com