May 10, 2007, 08:33 PM
Soarrich
Thread OP
Build Log

Shully Delta

This is a delta we designed and built on the picnic table at the flying field. It took about an hour to design and make, the next night we put the radio and power system in it in about an hour.
Last edited by soarrich; May 10, 2007 at 08:51 PM.
to remove ads between posts
May 10, 2007, 09:52 PM
My plans are in my blog
I have no real experience designing a delta, so I thought I'd ask - although it seems the elevon sizes seem small, do they work well?
May 11, 2007, 06:15 AM
Soarrich
Thread OP
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rusty-Gunn
although it seems the elevon sizes seem small, do they work well?
They seem to be the correct size. I cut away the tips to keep from getting any flutter at high speed, slow speed you never run out of control, works for me.

The speed range seems to be about 5 mph to 50 mph, very stable, yet very airbatic.
May 11, 2007, 06:46 AM
Winging it >
Nice job!! It is amazing how such a simple design, inexpensive material, and easy/quick technique can produce such a nice looking wing!

I bought some fan fold at my local Home Depot. It is so wavy, I get sea sick every time I look at it. Your foam looks pretty flat. Is it? If so where did you get it?

Details and stats about the wing and power train?

Is there any chance of a video of this delta?

Very nice build!
May 11, 2007, 03:59 PM
My plans are in my blog
Thank you.
May 11, 2007, 07:42 PM
Soarrich
Thread OP
Shully and I both bought 2100 mah battiers and 1050RPM/V Outrunner Motor & 30A ESC on fleabay http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...2877&rd=1&rd=1