Apr 16, 2007, 11:48 AM
Thread OP
Discussion

Bloodbath at Virginia Tech

Sometimes I see what is going on in Iraq and just shake my head over how violent they are, then I'm reminded that the U.S. is a violent place too.

The thin veil of civilization.
Apr 16, 2007, 12:40 PM
I'm dangerously carefree
I'm a student here. They're keeping us in lockdown.
Apr 16, 2007, 12:52 PM
Tally Ho!
Very saddened and shocked here in Holland that this has happened......

our thoughts are with all of you. and especially with the families of the deceased victims.

I personally hope the US will wake up finally and BAN all firearms in private posession, and enstate severe gun-laws like we have here in Holland......

the right to bear arms notwhithstanding, there will have to be a total radical change in thought about firearms laws in your country.......

KM
Apr 16, 2007, 12:55 PM
Go get them Meg!
I am not convinced that making personal possession of firearms illegal would have prevented someone who is willing to illegally murder 21 people from possessing a firearm.
Apr 16, 2007, 01:00 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by lrsudog
I am not convinced that making personal possession of firearms illegal would have prevented someone who is willing to illegally murder 21 people from possessing a firearm.
This is not a professional asassin at work. This is some madman, as usual. Without a developed infrastructure that allows anyone virtually unrestricted and uncontrolled access to firearms, a madman contemplating something like that would very likely have been caught long before he would have a chance to start shooting.

Not even mentioning that the very fact that these madmen consider this course of action as something viable and easily implementable is a direct consequence of being brought up in a society with such a casual approach to firearm ownership.
Apr 16, 2007, 01:00 PM
I'm dangerously carefree