Cumulus versus clear blue sky days - RC Groups
Oct 17, 2002, 07:56 AM
[intentionally blank]

Cumulus versus clear blue sky days

Between periods of rain we have had some beautiful clear blue sunny sky days with light winds, what would seem perfect for thermaling. I didn't have my RC glider with me but did a few trials with my free flight glider (wrampager) during those days and noticed very few thermals. Admittedly I am just learning some thermal finding abilities, so my question is are clear blue sky days typically weak thermal days? Do there need to be cumulus clouds as indicators of strong thermals?
to remove ads between posts
Oct 17, 2002, 08:49 AM
Hi Stuart,

Clear sky thermals are known as "Blue Thermals"

I find 'em (occasionally) to be as strong as the other kind..

Are you heading up to Brattleboro on the 27th?

Off to the field.. Ain't retirement grand!

Cheers
Oct 17, 2002, 09:27 AM
I hear cumulus clouds form when moist air is lifted to an altitude where the temperature is less than the condensation temp (dew point). So if there are cumulus clouds are above, there must be moist air and lift. The air doesn't have to be very moist if the lift is great enough. New Mexico develops great clouds daily in summer and the air at the gruond is pretty dry. In the north Calif central valley where I fly we almost never get cumulus clouds but have plenty of thermals. The air is dry and the thermals don't loft high enough to form condesation but fine for flying sailplanes.
Oct 17, 2002, 12:51 PM
[intentionally blank]
Quote:
Originally posted by stephen.s1
Hi Stuart,

Clear sky thermals are known as "Blue Thermals"

I find 'em (occasionally) to be as strong as the other kind..

Are you heading up to Brattleboro on the 27th?

Off to the field.. Ain't retirement grand!

Cheers
Thanks guys for the answers. Next nice day I just might take off work a little early for the field regardless if there are clouds or not.

Steve,