Apr 05, 2007, 10:26 PM
Thread OP
Discussion

Unicorn on an Align 430L with 3s lipos?

Hi I'm a total wing noob. I fly helis and a little stingray flying wing from blueskyrc, and am now looking into getting a bigger wing. I've pretty much decided on a unicorn, but I'm a little lost with regards to power options so here's a few questions for anyone who owns a similar wing:

1. I want to use the Align 430L brushless motor (3550kv outrunner) and Align 35A ESC out of my helicopter and run it on 3s2p 2100's (lipos), will this setup give me good top speeds?

2. When someone talks about a motor drawing a certain amount of amps "static" I assume this means it draws more when you bolt it down because of the air resistance, so how much of a difference in amp draw is their between "static" and "in flight" tests?

3. When you go up in voltage (3s to 4s) does amp draw remain the same?

4. I noticed some people running mega 16/15/4's on 45 amp ESC's, do I need that much? How many watts do I need for a good 80-90mph (maybe 100 )?

I just want a fast plane, that's kinda what is drawing me to these big wings. If anyones had any experience with using this motor on anything other than a heli please lemme know how it went.
to remove ads between posts
Apr 05, 2007, 10:55 PM
Fly me to the moon...
1. I want to use the Align 430L brushless motor (3550kv outrunner) and Align 35A ESC out of my helicopter and run it on 3s2p 2100's (lipos), will this setup give me good top speeds?

Not familiar with that motor but the kv is a bit high! For 3s setups you usually wan't about 28-3000kv motor. For 4s somewhere from 22-2500kv.

Your motor might work but you'll prolly need a smaller prop 4.1x4.1
2. When someone talks about a motor drawing a certain amount of amps "static" I assume this means it draws more when you bolt it down because of the air resistance, so how much of a difference in amp draw is their between "static" and "in flight" tests?