Thread Tools
Old Mar 31, 2007, 06:49 PM
The L is offline
Find More Posts by The L
Registered User
Discussion

Power Supply For Bench Testing


I want to do my own bench testing of motors.

Where can I get a reasonably priced adjustable voltage (up to about 20 volts) power supply that can handle about 50 amps?
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 31, 2007, 07:16 PM
arx_n_sparx is offline
Find More Posts by arx_n_sparx
Dismembered Member...
arx_n_sparx's Avatar
L: I think you might find that "reasonably priced" and "50 amps" might be mutually exclusive But I'm in on this thread in case someone comes up with something good.

Brad
Old Mar 31, 2007, 07:57 PM
ebill3 is offline
Find More Posts by ebill3
Registered User
ebill3's Avatar
Here is 40/45 amps, 16 volts for 200. Check Astron.

Bill
Old Apr 01, 2007, 06:58 AM
Ken Myers is online now
Find More Posts by Ken Myers
Registered User
Ken Myers's Avatar
I want such a creature myself, but at least 30v and 45 amps. Everything I have found is way out of my price range and most use a 220v input line, not just something you can plug into the standand 110v house outlet here in the US.
Old Apr 02, 2007, 11:37 PM
Johnnycee3d is offline
Find More Posts by Johnnycee3d
Registered User
How about a welder.........just kidding.
Old Apr 03, 2007, 07:11 AM
aireze is offline
Find More Posts by aireze
Registered User
Buy a couple of cheap power supplies from LHS or online supplier and connect them in parallel. You should be able to come up with something thats not to exspensive.
Old Apr 03, 2007, 10:06 AM
meteor is offline
Find More Posts by meteor
Registered User
meteor's Avatar
Used HP/Agilent lab power supplies can be found on eBay quite cheap. (relatively speaking!)

I have the 0-20V/0-50A (HP 6261) and 0-20V/0-15A (HP 6427b) versions, and they work a treat!

These types of supplies are constant-current/constant-voltage which can be very handy if you want to limit the current during testing so you don't accidentally fry something! (basic variable-voltage supplies will not limit current...)

See them here: https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/atta...hmentid=546440



There are many different HP incarnations with a wide range of voltage/current capabilities. Keep in mind that the "high-amp" ones are super-heavy (about 90lb.), so shipping can be costly for longer distances!


Here's a few examples (10V is really too low to be very useful, the 40V might go cheap, but it's only(!) 30A): http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...m=180101944795
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...m=250100781017

Keep in mind that they do have an "overdrive" latitude of 10-20%, so a 10V might squeak to 12V (4S). The 10V one's tend to go cheap, as they are not very popular...


Make sure that it is wired for 120V AC, not 208V, or 220V (you can re-wire it, but it's a hassle.)


Air-Craft has a really good deal on a more basic "hobbyist" unit: http://www.aircraft-world.com/shopexd.asp?id=3666


Lasly, Sorensen makes very good supplies as well, and are sometimes a little cheaper than the HP units. The DCR series are "SCR" and the DCS series are switchers.



Good luck!
Last edited by meteor; Apr 03, 2007 at 10:44 AM. Reason: additions/sp.
Old Apr 03, 2007, 04:09 PM
autoair is offline
Find More Posts by autoair
Registered User
autoair's Avatar
They are out there, I have an ex RAF 40V 50A power supply, Its the business, massively constructed, barely gets warm even when running flat out. If anybody in the UK wants one they are available here:
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/0-40V-0-50A-Be...QQcmdZViewItem
Old Apr 04, 2007, 12:48 AM
rcfury is offline
Find More Posts by rcfury
Registered User
holy smokes.. That is one massive power supply. You could hook up 10 chargers to that thing and still wont give up.
Old Apr 04, 2007, 01:49 AM
ebill3 is offline
Find More Posts by ebill3
Registered User
ebill3's Avatar
Man, that is one honking transformer. Don't know about your side of the pond, but over here that has enough copper to fund a full course dinner. With wine.

Bill
Old Apr 04, 2007, 03:26 AM
autoair is offline
Find More Posts by autoair
Registered User
autoair's Avatar
I dread to think what they cost the Government when new, it weighs over 100lbs most of which is the transformer, The wiring is an object lesson on how it shold be done with all the wires laced and individually numbered. They just dont make them like that anymore!
Old Apr 04, 2007, 06:43 AM
arx_n_sparx is offline
Find More Posts by arx_n_sparx
Dismembered Member...
arx_n_sparx's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by autoair
The wiring is an object lesson on how it shold be done with all the wires laced and individually numbered. They just dont make them like that anymore!
Ahem. I wire industrial controls for a living. *I* still do it like that - but we use ty-raps instead of string these days

Brad


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mini-HowTo Convert a computer ATX power supply for bench work old man emu Australia 44 May 26, 2007 03:56 AM
Discussion Power Supply For Bench Testing himszy Submarines 15 Feb 07, 2006 01:02 AM
PC Power Supply For Motor Testing Tom Frank Power Systems 1 Dec 08, 2004 07:00 PM
Universal power supply for motor testing? Radiofly Power Systems 42 Mar 23, 2004 12:15 PM
Power supply for bench testing Phoenix controllers rakm Castle Creations 5 Mar 10, 2004 11:33 PM