Will Realflight G2 work with Windows XP or Vista? - RC Groups
Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Thread Tools
Mar 29, 2007, 11:54 AM
Registered User
Question

Will Realflight G2 work with Windows XP or Vista?


I've loved using my G2 sim on a comp with windows 98 about a year ago. Unfortunately, that comp is a gonna! I now have a computer with XP and a laptop with Vista. My old G2 sim wont load on either. Does anyone know of a way to get it to work with either of these operating systems or should i just give up tryin'!

Elliot
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Mar 29, 2007, 11:58 AM
Suspended Account
willhaney's Avatar
Don't know about Vista but it should load on XP with no issues. What happens while installing it on XP?

Will
Mar 29, 2007, 11:58 AM
Registered User
nemo_uk's Avatar
Hi Elliot,

G2 should work with XP, I'm not sure about Vista.

http://www.gpsoftware.com/kb/q01-1058.htm

regards,

Tony.
Mar 29, 2007, 12:09 PM
Registered User
My G2 works with Win2000 so it sure should work with XP.

Hank
Mar 29, 2007, 12:09 PM
Registered User
Thanks Will and Tony for the quick replies. I've only tried it with Vista and certain files were blocked. I then assumed it wouldn't work with XP.. Oooops. I'll go an try and load it on the comp with XP.

Elliot
Mar 29, 2007, 01:01 PM
Registered User
Assumptions were right! When loading on XP the installshield wizard box stayed on for ages, then nothing for 5 mins. Finally finished initial installation. When starting the G2 prog it begins to load all files for final install. Wont start programme comes up with error report - Radio Control Simulator encountered a problem - then shuts down G2 prog.
Mar 29, 2007, 01:10 PM
Suspended Account
willhaney's Avatar
Installshield may be preventing the application form being installed properly. You could try disabling Installshield before another attempt at installing.

You may need to uninstall the bad/incomplete install first.

Will
Mar 29, 2007, 01:24 PM
Registered User
Try installing the g2, on xp again, then going to software instalation wisard, I think it is? and select g2, and run in compatablility mode for windows 98.


Come to think of it, after the g2 is installed on the xp, click on the g2 icon on the desktop, and select compatability mode for win 98.

It should work one way of the other.
Last edited by RCHSF; Mar 29, 2007 at 01:30 PM.
Mar 29, 2007, 01:32 PM
Registered User
Yeah you might need to disable the resedent sheild if you have something like avg antivirus, or other.
Mar 29, 2007, 01:54 PM
Registered User
Went to the link Tony gave and seems an update might do it. Now can't remember my password to register with new computer - can't update til u've put in old password! Will email RF for it. Could phone tech help if i new the code from UK!

How do you get into software installation wizard or disable installshield?? Doh!! why aren't things more simple!

Elliot
Mar 29, 2007, 01:55 PM
Registered User
Gonna try your stuff Outback.
Mar 29, 2007, 02:51 PM
Registered User
nemo_uk's Avatar
Elliot, check your private messages
Mar 29, 2007, 05:33 PM
Registered User
I've upgraded to the latest version, got up to date drivers for graphics card, tried the installation fix from GP site... NOTHING. Still getting error report after splash screen on starting programme.
Outback how do i get to this compatability mode exactly - can't get it by clicking on icon!!
Mar 29, 2007, 05:53 PM
Registered User
Call realflight, they will give you a link to a patch, i had that problem until they told me to download a patch.

Check your pm
Mar 29, 2007, 06:04 PM
Registered User
Thanks jnida i'll email realflight see if they can help.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help! Will DOS programs work with Windows XP? Linux? mrebman Life, The Universe, and Politics 12 Aug 31, 2005 11:39 PM
Does cockpitmasters work with windows xp? thor4944 Simulators 0 Jan 23, 2004 11:33 AM
Microsoft Office 97 Professional - Will it work with Windows XP Home? mrebman Life, The Universe, and Politics 1 Jan 26, 2002 11:10 PM
Windows XP Question - What CD Burning Software will work with Windows XP? mrebman Life, The Universe, and Politics 3 Jan 10, 2002 08:23 PM
Help!! - Quicken 2002 Basic won't work with Windows XP!? mrebman Life, The Universe, and Politics 1 Dec 28, 2001 02:54 PM