Mar 25, 2007, 11:57 PM
RC Airplane Crasher
Discussion

How much damage can a LIPO take safely?

I had a bad crash today, crashed my RC Bug into a light post.

One corner of the 460 mAh 2S Lipo battery got mashed in.

It still reads normal voltage.

Is it safe to use or should I throw it away?

Sorry I'm new to this stuff just wondering what you guys think.

It's mashed in about 1/8" from how it was originally.
to remove ads between posts
Mar 26, 2007, 12:04 AM
RC Airplane Crasher
Never mind please disregard this thread.

I was flying in the parking lot where I work. When the damage first occurred, I didn't notice until I connected it to the charger, and it read normal voltage. Then I noticed the big dent in the corner. I freaked out and immediately disconnected the battery and threw it in the metal dumpster out back. I was scared of the battery exploding or something.

Later I checked on it and it hadn't caught fire or anything, was just sitting there in the bottom of the dumpster so I started wondering if I could still use it, so I thought I would ask here.

However, after I posted this thread, I started reading around and finding threads about other people having fires and such caused by using a dented pack. I realize now that my first instinct was the correct one, get rid of the battery and don't look back. Sorry for asking such a dumb question.
Mar 26, 2007, 12:22 AM
RC Airplane Crasher
Just an update!

I left the battery in the metal dumpster, and while I have been surfing the web and reading RCGroups messages, I heard a "pop" and I went outside and looked in the dumpster, and the battery had exploded.

I'll try to get a pic if anyone wants to see

I'm glad I realized how dumb an idea it was to try and keep the battery. I came pretty close to putting it back in my gear box. That could have been an expensive explosion. Instead, it happened in a dumpster and didn't hurt anything.
Mar 26, 2007, 12:35 AM