Ultra Light 3 Gram!!! Servos. You can do it! - Page 2 - RC Groups
Thread Tools
Jun 10, 2003, 02:27 PM
Registered User

2.6grs


Yes Mrc it is a graupner C141
a pager motor 4*12
and resitor CMS

the next in the article in publication RCM

@++
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Jun 10, 2003, 03:29 PM
Gravity is a harsh mistress.
Tim Wolff's Avatar

Re: 2.6grs


Quote:
Originally posted by maulionc
Yes Mrc it is a graupner C141
a pager motor 4*12
and resitor CMS

the next in the article in publication RCM

@++
What issue of RCM?
Jun 11, 2003, 03:25 AM
Registered User
RCM is a french issue !

charleS.
Jun 11, 2003, 03:30 AM
MrC
MrC
Registered User
Quote:
Originally posted by maulionc
RCM is a french issue !

charleS.
Darn My French is a little rusty -- it's been 15 years.

When it comes out, could someone post a translated version?

--MrC
Jun 11, 2003, 03:53 AM
Registered User
i don't know

I am very bad in English

charles
Jun 11, 2003, 07:27 AM
Impossible? Hah!
KreAture's Avatar
Has anyone looked into using a differential controller and a set of syntetic muscle fibers? Electro-active polymer actuators to be specific? (EAP)

Something like: http://www.eamex.co.jp/tech_e.html
and maby best: http://ndeaa.jpl.nasa.gov/nasa-nde/l...ap/EAP-web.htm

One would set up one as a puller and one as a pusher.
I think one could use the current they draw relative to the applied voltage to do positional calculations!

I just have to get ahold of some so I can play
Jun 11, 2003, 08:18 AM
Registered User
Regarding some earlier threads, I have some magnet wire and I can see where using it would reduce the overall weight especially if you soldered direct to the pins. It looks like the insulation is just a thin coating. How easy is it to chip or scrape off the coating? In other words I was thinking of the possiblities of shorts using the magnet wire. Putting holes in the case is a good idea too but of course dirt or foreign matter can then enter. But it probably would be worth the risk. I haven't tried indoor flying yet, but it sure looks like fun. This servo lightening makes it more appealing because I know I couldn't bring myself to pay $60 each to get wes tech servos. Keep up the good work. If nothing else it makes for good reading.
Sep 14, 2003, 02:10 AM
Who Says Penguins Can't Fly?
aeropenguin's Avatar
Mario, I cannot believe you did that to the HS-55!!!
I would really love to see how you lighten up the newer Cirrus CS-5.4, CS-4.9, and, the CS-3 coming very soon. the number stands for the weight!!! If you lighten up the CS-4.9 (the CS-3 is very expensive) down to 2 grams, then you could get a power plant that weighs the same as a BSD Standard MagAct, puts our a ton more torque, and if you could lighten up the r4p.......
Any extremely lightened up photos of the r4p?

Thanks!
-Michael
Sep 14, 2003, 02:33 AM
Registered User
Not of the R4P per se, but of it's connections etc. I should have desoldered the pins before soldering the servo and esc connections. Next time
Sep 14, 2003, 12:55 PM
Registered User
Where do you guys get magnet wire?

Thanks,
BC
Sep 14, 2003, 01:00 PM
Registered User
Also are the pos and neg always the same from a rx with the sig the only variable? My servos are located a good 6 inches from my rx. Can I just solder the neg and pos together on both servos and run only one neg and pos from the rx? And then have separate sig wires?

thanks,
BC
Sep 14, 2003, 01:16 PM
Pro Bro #495
fwilly's Avatar
You can get magnet wire from radioshack. It comes in a pack of three, with red, green and copper colored enamel. The red works well for rewiring stuff. The + and - are all the same. You can run just one set of power wires to you servos and hook both of them to it, so that you only have only the signals, the power wires from the esc and the one set of power wires going to the servos.
Sep 14, 2003, 01:44 PM
Hmm, kerosene... :)
NightSwan's Avatar
Quote:
Originally posted by bcripe1
Also are the pos and neg always the same from a rx with the sig the only variable? My servos are located a good 6 inches from my rx. Can I just solder the neg and pos together on both servos and run only one neg and pos from the rx? And then have separate sig wires?

thanks,
BC
Yep
Sep 14, 2003, 02:41 PM
Who Says Penguins Can't Fly?
aeropenguin's Avatar
if you need tons of magnet wire, check out www.wondermagnet.com browse around and you'll find it. They come in giant spools of 1lb and I think there are a few 5lb spools.
Sep 14, 2003, 03:09 PM
Sticky Shepherd
Graham Stabler's Avatar
The 4RP is fundementally heavy because of the filter (the large black block) that thing weighs about 1.6g. All you can do is remove the PCB that the servos connect to but be careful.

Graham


Thread Tools