Real Ira's "Shot Getter" - RC Groups
This thread is privately moderated by Cats Eyes, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Mar 23, 2007, 08:42 PM
...in the skies...
Build Log

Real Ira's "Shot Getter"

Shot Getter Build thread

This will be my build log for my version of Real Ira's Shot Getter. I was waiting for Doug at Mountain Models to come out with his new AP ship, but it appears that project has been shelved. So I figured it was about time to get my feet wet and do a scratch build. I'm a slow builder, so this will probably take many months. Heck it's taken me about three weeks of fooling around on the computer to come up with the design in a CAD package.

First, a disclaimer. Read Ira's Shot Getter thread in its entirety first! Ira has decades more experience than I have in building and designing aircraft, the original design is his, and he has been steadily refining and improving the design over time based on real-world flying experience. I am making quite a few modifications from the original Getter design to suit my own requirements, building style, availability of materials and components, etc. etc. which may or may not be improvements over the original. If you wish to incorporate any of the changes I am making here, you do so at your own discretion and risk.

List of Materials

I am building this list as I go along, so obviously it is not comprehensive (yet).

[table 1 3 1]
2^Qty.|Item/Material|Size|Notes
2|White foam|2" x 12"x 32"|Foam wing blanks
1|White foam|2" x 24"x 2 1/8"|Foam for fuselage
2|Aircraft grade plywood|3/32" x 12" x 6"|Fuselage sides etc.
1|CF Rod|1/4" OD, 3/32" ID x 36"|For fuselage boom
2|CF arrows|~5/16" dia. x 30"|For wing braces
4|Threaded inserts||For above arrows
1|Carbon fiber landing gear|-|-
2|3" lite foam wheels|-|-
1|6mm Depron Sheet|19" x 12"|For tail feathers
1|Gold-N-Rod pushrod set||Sullivan #503
1|music wire|5/16"|For wing joiners
1|music wire|3/32"|For tail skid
[/table]

The Build