Jan 31, 2007, 11:05 PM
Thread OP
Build Log

MoJo .60 Build Log

I just started a new build of a MoJo 60, one of those famous slab-sided profile monsters, and thought it might be fun to document it here for anyone who might be interested. The plane spans 55 inches, has 1,000 square inches of wing area and a projected weight of 5.5 to 6.0 pounds. A popular engine choice for this plane is the Saito 1.00, and that’s what I’ve chosen to use. This is my first Saito and I’m very excited to try it out. It’s almost too pretty to use.

Anyway, if anyone sees anything worthy of comment, don’t be shy. If you see me make some glaring mistake or omission, please chime in and help steer me in the right direction. I’ve built a few kits over the years, but this plane is pretty cutting edge and has some techniques that I have never used before. It features a 1/2-inch epoxy-glass tube that runs the from engine mount all the way to the tail feathers. This reportedly gives it unsurpassed durability and a much longer than average life span for a down-on-the-deck type of plane. There is also tons of CNC machined parts, and I’m anxious to experience something better than the die-smashing of years gone by. Here is a pic of the contents of the box. I tried to lay it all out neatly, but I’m not so sure I succeeded.

The construction starts with the motor mount. Two identical plywood mounts are laminated together. The manual specifies epoxy or wood glue for this task, and since I always manage to make a mess with epoxy, I broke out my trusty bottle of Elmers white glue. Here is everything ready to proceed.

I bought that darn Woodpecker years ago and have probably only used it half a dozen times, so I decided to dust it off for this plane. I ran it back and forth over the mating sides of the mounts and then smeared a liberal quantity of glue all over both halves.