Sep 13, 2002, 03:32 PM
Motor Maniac
Thread OP
Question

Eclipse TX with V-tail, setup?

Sorry if this is a newbie question, but I'm a newbie when it comes to HLG. Transitioning from my FocusIII to my Eclipse for a V-tail HLG (Gambler from Wright Brothers RC), no ailerons or other control surfaces. I have the two servos on CH2 and CH4 per the Eclipse instructions. With the V-tail mode enabled I have elevator control the right stick and rudder control on the left stick. I can understand this is preferable if you have a glider with ailerons as you would want them on the right stick. But how about with a simple V-tail like this? Should I try the Elevon configuration or use mixes to get the rudder-type control on the right stick so I am just using a single-stick for control?

Thanks in advance.
to remove ads between posts
Sep 13, 2002, 03:43 PM
You should just be using a single stick for control on your Gambler. I don't have an Eclipse Tx but you should easily be able to do this in the V-Tail mode. I'm just guessing but maybe you should connect the servos to channels 1 & 2 rather than 2 & 4.

Greg
Sep 13, 2002, 03:52 PM
You need to add a mix.

Need to mix ailerons to rudder at 50-100%.

That way when you move the right stick for ailerons, it'll activate the rudder part of the V-tail mix. This is SOP for setting up R/E gliders with V-tails.

ian
Sep 13, 2002, 04:27 PM
I'm not sure about the Eclipse, but on a Futaba you can control a V-tail by using using channels 1 and 2 and setting it up for elevons. This allows you to control it using the right stick. You may have to play with the servo reversing and switching which servos go to which channel, but you should be able to get it to work.
Sep 13, 2002, 04:38 PM
Our Daddy and Heli Junkie
Same thing on a Flash 5 so the Eclpise shoul be the same.

V-Tail enabled on channel 2&4 and the VT works fine, but moving the left stick will owrk the rudder too.
Sep 13, 2002, 05:53 PM
Fly Safe and Check 6