Thread Tools
Dec 21, 2012, 07:02 AM
Gravity impaired
jrjr's Avatar
Merry Christmas!
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Dec 21, 2012, 07:55 PM
Professional heli wrecker
Luvmyhelis's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrjr
Merry Christmas!
Ha, thanks! All the best to the best guys here! Whooooooot!

Shoot, looks like I am going to have to build another OlliW gyromixer for a friend of mine. I haven't done one with the new computer program he wrote yet.......I also may need some of your incredible Skytec parts for it also Sven.

And Sven, Send me something to do a brushless mod on my friend.... I owe you one! LMH
Last edited by Luvmyhelis; Dec 21, 2012 at 08:03 PM.
Dec 22, 2012, 08:26 AM
Registered User
kodak_jack's Avatar
It would seem as if the Svenster has bypassed our simple coax heli's and is flying on a much higher level. I envy guys who have gone steps higher while some, like me, are at a much lower, yet simpler, level of flying. Happy flying no matter what or where you fly!
Dec 22, 2012, 10:21 AM
Fly em if ya got em.
leethetreeguy's Avatar
I believe in saying what you feel. I am not a politicaly correct sort of fella. MERRY CHRISTMAS to you all.
Lee
Dec 22, 2012, 01:00 PM
Registered User
I've had a great year of coaxial flying thanks to you fellas sharing by posting your thoughts, ideas, fixes, upgrades, etc., all which have helped and contributed in some way.
Thanks very much Merry Christmas and may your holidays be joyful.
Bern
Dec 23, 2012, 05:26 AM
Registered User
SJMarty's Avatar

No Response to Throttle


I have two mCX2 helis, a Tandem Rescue, two CX3 helis, and just purchased a new CX2. I'm pretty new at all of this but I'm pretty sure I've got a problem with my CX2.

I just took my CX2 out for the first time. I bound it to my DX6i but the LED on the EFLH1023 stays a solid red. The servos work correctly but the motors won't spin up when I give it throttle. I read a forum suggestion about setting the throttle trim all of the way down so I tried that and it didn't help. I replaced the AR6100e with a spare I have, rebound it, and it still won't respond to the throttle. Following another forum suggestion, I tested both motors by bypassing the EFLH1023 and connecting a "AA" battery to the JST connector. They both spin up so the motors themselves appear to be good.

Is there anything else I can try or do I have a bad EFLH1023?

-Steve

NEW DEVELOPMENT: I took apart the EFLH1023 Control Unit and the pot labeled "PROPORTIONAL" is completely destroyed. There is nothing but a cavity where the adjustment screw should be. I attached a picture I took of it.
Dec 23, 2012, 08:17 AM
Registered User
kodak_jack's Avatar
Holy cow, Batman!! That's a new one.
The throttle stick has to be all the way down to bind. The throttle on mine is set for 125%. All the rest are at normal settings except the gyro and that's because I have a brushless set up with an external gyro.
Dec 23, 2012, 09:16 AM
Epilepsy Awareness
Chap1012's Avatar
Steve, with the "prop" pot looking like that, I doubt very much you'll get it to bind. I'd call Horizon Hobby and explain your situation. You "must" have your sales receipt before they'll do anything for you. Attach the pic and send it via email if they require it. IMHO, HH is very good to deal with. I got a bad EFLH1024 that I bought at another vendor and HH replaced it for me. Make sure you get on their "call back" system as this is much better. Many times they will get back within 20 minutes.

Good luck,
Mike.
Dec 23, 2012, 09:28 AM
Registered User
SJMarty's Avatar
Unfortunately, once I saw the pot, I figured it was shot.

When bound properly, should the LED on the EFLH1023 be solid green? Mine is solid red. Both of my CX3s have a different control unit (EFLH2001) but when they are bound, the LED is solid green.

Thanks.
Dec 23, 2012, 09:39 AM
"whirlydude"
flyeraroo's Avatar
Yes, you are correct, it should be solid green. Are you using the DX6i when flying the CX3's? If so, I don't believe it's the tx settings, so I'm leaning more toward the control unit. Do you have a stock Eflite tx you can try binding the CX2 to?
Dec 23, 2012, 09:45 AM
Epilepsy Awareness
Chap1012's Avatar
My 1024 is solid green in the front and solid orange in the back. You do know between battery changes the TX MUST be shut down and re-started before another battery goes in. At least that's how my 1024 is.

Mike.
Dec 23, 2012, 10:38 AM
Professional heli wrecker
Luvmyhelis's Avatar
Hmm, for sure the previous owner was having problems in this area also as evidenced by the abuse.

I wonder. Can you take your throttle endpoints down below 0 on your Dx6i and try it again. Such as below -10. Your controller might not be seeing a low enough throttle sig. One of the good things you can do with a programmable tx.

And once this works, if it works. We can bypass the proportion with your progammable tx also. But this gets complicated. My concern is even if you get this to throttle up the prop needs to be correct to make this flyable.
Dec 23, 2012, 11:39 AM
Registered User
SJMarty's Avatar
Yes, I'm using a DX6i. I dropped the throttle trim all of the way down and tried to rebind. No luck - I still get the solid red LED and no throttle response. I agree that I don't believe the transmitter is the issue.
Dec 23, 2012, 08:28 PM
Registered User
SJMarty's Avatar
I definitely have to replace the 3-in-1. Since I already have two CX3s that have the EFLH2001, I'm looking for opinions...

Should I replace the bad 3-in-1 in the CX2 with the stock EFLH1023 or should I get the EFLH2001?
Dec 23, 2012, 10:13 PM
"whirlydude"
flyeraroo's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by SJMarty
I definitely have to replace the 3-in-1. Since I already have two CX3s that have the EFLH2001, I'm looking for opinions...

Should I replace the bad 3-in-1 in the CX2 with the stock EFLH1023 or should I get the EFLH2001?
If it were me, I would go with the EFLH1023 since it is less money. I myself don't need a head holding gyro on a coaxial helicopter. Single rotor helicopters they are nice to have, but a coaxial when using the mixer to regulate the 2 motors I don't believe it's necessary. (that's just my opinion) I have the EFLH1024 in both my CX helicopters, which is the same as the EFLH1023 only with a receiver built in. (4 in 1) I have never had any issue with the tail not holding that I couldn't control with the gyro gain on the control unit.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion to buy or not to buy the blade cx2 airhead225 Coaxial Helicopters 36 Jul 09, 2009 11:01 PM
Discussion Blade CX2 Tx's - Can they be adapted to fly indoor/park flyers Sirion Electric Plane Talk 11 Apr 19, 2009 07:52 PM
Question How to program my dx7 to fly blade cx2? topforce Coaxial Helicopters 4 Sep 23, 2007 09:13 AM
Discussion How do I use my ICE to charge my batterys for blade CX2??? webejpn01 Electric Heli Talk 2 Jan 26, 2007 01:02 PM
Discussion How to learn to fly inverted with the Blade CP? Crazyrcer Micro Helis 4 Apr 05, 2006 12:59 PM