Dec 04, 2006, 01:36 AM
Rant

I got UNscrewed by a major DLG maker! UPDATE

I want to start by saying that this fairly well known DLG maker has probably delivered on all the direct sales he has made. I will not name names at this point but want to share this story here in hopes that the this guy will feel some pressure to make good on our deal. I am a photographer and have designed some decent web sites including my own: www.davidcasteel.com This fellow and I made a verbal agreement in June to trade web site design for a kit. To be exact he promised me a 4 servo wing, a 2 servo wing, pod, boom and kevlar tail feathers. I spent about 20 hours in design, programming, and posting his site. He contacted me many times to ask photoshop advice so I volunteered time to teach him what I could. He was pleasant to deal with and encouraged my work by talking about how he was planning to build the 4 servo wing. He did not help much when I asked for "content" for the site so I considered it a "work in progress" although the site was mostly finished. In any case, he never offered any critique of the work. Without any warning he called me and told me that he found another guy who was a dedicated web designer who he wanted to work on the site. I did not protest as he offered to send the goods he had promised. Weeks passed and when I asked about the kit he complained that he messed up the bagging of the 4 servo wing. I let several more weeks pass and when I asked him about my kit he said that he "would get to it soon". This was about 3 months ago. Since then we have been through a cycle of my inquiries and his promises to send the kit. I have emails describing how "it will go out this week" or "thursday" or "soon". At some point I offered that I would compromise and receive a standard kit only. In a recent phone conversation he admitted that he did not pay the guy who designed his "new" site because he had issues with the design. I saw this site and can say that it was no better or wo