New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old Feb 19, 2007, 08:25 PM
wemattson is offline
Find More Posts by wemattson
Registered User
wemattson's Avatar
Tony,

My DVII has the same hinges as yours. Yes they are real small but they work fine and mine have held up well so far (a dozen flights +/-). Also, be careful to not lose any, Great Planes gave me exactly 13 hinges to meet the needs of this plane (you'd think they could spare a couple).

Wayne
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 19, 2007, 09:52 PM
No Step is offline
Find More Posts by No Step
My hangar is,... "almost" full
No Step's Avatar
edit: .... repeat, sorry ... ugh
Old Feb 19, 2007, 10:08 PM
HogCrewChief is online now
Find More Posts by HogCrewChief
Registered User
Thanks for the help. Yeah, I got 13 of them. I cannot believe how small they are, hard to hold them. I will glue them in tomorrow.

Thanks again,
Tony
Old Feb 19, 2007, 10:32 PM
Birdog is offline
Find More Posts by Birdog
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by HogCrewChief
I just measured the things that I think are the hinges and they are 3/16" X 3/8". The instructions say the hinges are 1/4" X 5/8". Anyone else have the same small hinges I do?

Tony
Those are the hinges. Don't worry they work just fine.
Old Feb 20, 2007, 07:53 AM
sanman55 is online now
Find More Posts by sanman55
Registered User
sanman55's Avatar

hinges


They are small but work just fine.
Old Feb 22, 2007, 12:31 PM
Gary Hoorn is offline
Find More Posts by Gary Hoorn
Chesapeake Bay RC Club
Gary Hoorn's Avatar
Here is how I install CA type of hinges. First ensure that everything fits and lines up. Insert the hinges into the control surface the required depth and tack in place with a tiny drop of CA applied with a toothpick. Do not saturate the hinge. Insert the control surface and move it up and down 45 degress to establish the necessary clearance for free movement. Apply CA to the top and wait. Do not use a Kicker as you want the CA to penetrate into the hinge and the surrounding wood. After the top has cured turn the surface over and apply CA to the other side of the hinge. Use care when applying the CA. I use toothpicks dipped in the CA to control the amount applied.
Gary
Old Feb 23, 2007, 04:51 PM
sparrow1717 is offline
Find More Posts by sparrow1717
WOOOOsssSSSShhHH !!
sparrow1717's Avatar
What to use for cowling grate/radiator in front?

If you look at Mark Wolfs pics on the first page (bottom pic of first page) you'll see what I mean. It looks to be window screen type material. It looks alot better then the molded radiator inlet.

Any body have any ideas? Maybe Mark will chime in.

Spar
Old Feb 25, 2007, 06:38 AM
claybuster is offline
Find More Posts by claybuster
Electricholics Anonymous
claybuster's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by sparrow1717
What to use for cowling grate/radiator in front?

If you look at Mark Wolfs pics on the first page (bottom pic of first page) you'll see what I mean. It looks to be window screen type material. It looks alot better then the molded radiator inlet.

Any body have any ideas? Maybe Mark will chime in.

Spar
It looks like he just cleaned out the holes and painted it. I have some mesh material that looks real close to it.
Mike
Old Feb 25, 2007, 08:25 PM
spinnetti is offline
Find More Posts by spinnetti
SCCA, EAA, M.E.
spinnetti's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by sparrow1717
What to use for cowling grate/radiator in front?

If you look at Mark Wolfs pics on the first page (bottom pic of first page) you'll see what I mean. It looks to be window screen type material. It looks alot better then the molded radiator inlet.

Any body have any ideas? Maybe Mark will chime in.

Spar
window screen is ok for this.. there is a plastic type and a metal type.. The plastic stuff is better for this application since it weighs practically nothing.

I'm going to make a mold and vac form my own cowls from heaver stock, then use the plastic screen for it. I'm pretty tired of breaking the cowl with every other landing!
Old Mar 11, 2007, 05:01 PM
HogCrewChief is online now
Find More Posts by HogCrewChief
Registered User
What is the best place to balance this plane at? I just balanced mine at the recommended CG with all the recommended gear and a TP 1320 pack. I had to add about 2 oz of lead.

Thanks,
Tony
Old Mar 12, 2007, 05:17 PM
sparrow1717 is offline
Find More Posts by sparrow1717
WOOOOsssSSSShhHH !!
sparrow1717's Avatar
oh my gawd !!

My 6 year old just sat on the Fokker box ( my fault for leaving it on floor) !!!

Looks like the left of middle has a two cross peices broken
It looks like I can repair it if I pull the covering off. This might be an excuse to re-cover the wing ina different color ( some lozenge covering would be sweet) .

You think I could slice into covering and repair it without to much of a hassle?

Spar

Dvii grounded
Old Mar 12, 2007, 08:38 PM
Holtenbacker is offline
Find More Posts by Holtenbacker
Registered User
Holtenbacker's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by HogCrewChief
What is the best place to balance this plane at? I just balanced mine at the recommended CG with all the recommended gear and a TP 1320 pack. I had to add about 2 oz of lead.

Thanks,
Tony
Mine has the Rec. motor and gear, also the TP1320 and balanced without any adjustments (or lead)
I was lucky, I guess

Maiden flight was yesterday and this plane flies sweet
Old Mar 12, 2007, 09:50 PM
spinnetti is offline
Find More Posts by spinnetti
SCCA, EAA, M.E.
spinnetti's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by HogCrewChief
What is the best place to balance this plane at? I just balanced mine at the recommended CG with all the recommended gear and a TP 1320 pack. I had to add about 2 oz of lead.

Thanks,
Tony
Yikes! I used a CSRC 3s 1250 right at the front of the battery pocket and a Eskay400xt, and it didn't need any nose weight to balance at the recommended point - thank goodness as I HATE adding weight (was that 2.250 from the leading edge? - I think its right where the balsa skin under the covering leaves off). Now that I've flown it a bit, I think the CG needs to come back a bit from the recommended point as I have a little static up elevator at 1/2 throttle.
Last edited by spinnetti; Mar 14, 2007 at 07:40 AM. Reason: listed wrong battery initially
Old Mar 13, 2007, 09:05 PM
HogCrewChief is online now
Find More Posts by HogCrewChief
Registered User
That is kinda weird. I balanced mine at the recommended CG with a great planes balancer and it definitely needed lead, it was actually 1.5 oz of lead. I put liquitex on the entire plane, not sure if that has something to do with the need for lead. I weighed the entire plane, ready to fly, and it weighs 27oz. Great planes says it should be 26oz. so I am pretty happy with the weight mine came out at.

Tony
Old Mar 13, 2007, 10:48 PM
Holtenbacker is offline
Find More Posts by Holtenbacker
Registered User
Holtenbacker's Avatar
HogCrewChief,

I also use a GP Balancer and my Fokker finnished out at 23.5 oz
I also used the Liquitex, but as a very light coating.

The Fokker in the E Zone Review weighed 22.7 oz.

Something does not add up right
Re Check the balance at 2.125 in
Either the equipment in front of the CG is lighter than what others used..
Or Assembly or equipment past the CG is heavier than what others used.

GP Is releasing the Fokker DrI triplane in late ApriI. It will be $10 more than the SE5A and the Fokker DVII


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Article Great Planes, Electrifly Fokker Dr-1 ARF Parkflyer Review Michael Heer Parkflyers 505 May 15, 2016 08:55 PM
Found Great Planes ElectriFly Fokker DVII shovelheadfreak Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 4 Jan 11, 2007 08:24 PM
New Product **NEW** Great Planes ElectriFly Fokker D.VII Park Flyer ARF Mandy Product Announcements 0 Aug 31, 2006 02:30 PM
Discussion **NEW** Great Planes ElectriFly Fokker D.VII Park Flyer ARF Jim T. Graham Product Announcements 4 Aug 18, 2006 10:50 PM
New Product Great Planes ElectriFly Fokker D.VII Park Flyer ARF Mandy Scale Kit/Scratch Built 0 Aug 15, 2006 06:47 PM