Oct 20, 2006, 08:31 PM
Hooper, full throttle!
Build Log

Altec/Lion Models Sky Dancer .25

This thread is something that I have wanted to do for a long time.

I grew up flying hand-me-down RC models in the 70ís. Being just a young lad I had no ability or knowledge to build the complex sport planes I would see at the field with my Father. Kaos, Kougars, Kobras, Contenders Birdis, you name it!

As I got older I graduated to an old P-51 my Popís buddy gave up. The model was so glow soaked in the nose it needed a ton of weight to get it to balance. All the model did was make me crave a sleek looking Sport Flyer even more.

My Dad built his Last RC model for me. It was a pretty hot little Sig Kobra. At last I would have my sport model. As luck would have it before I could get to fly it the model was trashed. My Pops moved on to model trains and I to Hot Rods.

Well itís almost 30 years later but Popís I got my Sport Plane! My Dads gone but I bet he would hold up his nose to this one, as itís an AFR. Pops spent WWII in China and might find it funny thatís where most of my models come from now.

Sky Dancer .20

The instructions are marked Altech <MRC?> and the wing Sport Flyers. If anyone knows for sure the history of this kit feel free to chime in. I found it on The-Bay for under thirty dollars. The price tag on the kit is for over 100$.

Wing Span 49Ē
Length 36Ē
Wing Area 433Ēs
Weight 3.52lbs
Engine 28 <2c>

The weight of the components are as follows

Left Wing Pannel 6.5 ounces
Right Wing Pannel 6.5 ounces
Fuselage 8.0 ounces
Rudder .8 ounces
Elevator 2.1 ounces
Canopy .5 ounces
Wheels/Piano Wire 3.3 ounces
Hardware Bags 2 Ounces Kit Weight 29.7 ounces!

My overall impression is wow; this thing is built like a balsa outhouse! I could surely remove a lot of weight behind the wing on the fuse with some holes. That could play a roll in the event the model is tail heavy. I will have 10 ounces of battery in this plane though!