Z-Foam Repair - RC Groups
Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Oct 13, 2006, 09:29 AM
Discussion

Z-Foam Repair

Newbie here looking for help.

After watching my father-in-law enjoying his electro-foamie, I decided to purchase a Hobbyzone Super Cub. I love it and it is so easy to fly, people think I actually know what I'm doing....right up 'til the unsuccessful neg G-loop....into the neighbor's house...they've been very gracious about the entire matter. (Tip: the plane wasn't built for that type of activity).

Anyway, so the Super Cub is banged up pretty well. The good news is that the radios and motor still work. And, the replacement parts only total $8.59. However, the fuselage took a real beating but I think it's still usable.

The front of the radio compartment has noticeable vertical stress seams along the front wall. Also, the engine mount was ripped off the firewall which gives the foam a real rough edge, but I think I will still be able to glue a new firewall back on. Which brings me to the questions:

1) How to build up/support those stress seams
2) What adhesive to use to mount the firewall to the fuselage.

Thanks for any advice you might have.
to remove ads between posts
Oct 13, 2006, 11:33 AM
I like Sumo glue from Lowes. It is Polyurethane glue and it foams up filling in gaps. As far as reinforcing the fuselage try foam from takeout containers or a foam egg container. Just cut out a piece the size you need. You can do a search on Sumo on rc groups and read more about it. Good luck.
Oct 15, 2006, 01:32 AM
Culpable
Glad you like the Cub, you are correct, the plane wasnt designed to do any negative G work, but it is an awsome machine the right way up!

To repair torn "Z" foam, you can just use any grade of CA, it doesnt have to be the foam friendly type. The "Z" foam is not effected by CA like polystyrene based foams.