My DX-6 got shot down? - RC Groups
Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Thread Tools
Oct 07, 2006, 11:13 AM
almost slackin
Question

My DX-6 got shot down?


I was flying at my usual small field using the DX-6 in my Stryker, have been using this for quite a while with no issues.
A helicopter flew directly over the field at low altitude. I have been overflown there many times by news choppers and even had one fly around the field checking out my plane, but this one was larger and had no names or news channel numbers.
I heard it coming and started circling the field very low to give it a wide berth and when it was clear I got a little more altitude and suddenly the motor quit, I couldn't immediately tell by sound because the chopper was still near, but my plane just started gliding. Luckily I was well placed for a deadstick so after trying closing the throttle and trying to reset it I just put it down.
I walked over and picked my plane up and tried the throttle again and it was normal, threw it airborne and finished that battery and flew thru 4 more with no issues whatsoever.
Did the chopper shoot me down?
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Oct 07, 2006, 11:51 AM
Registered User
Very possible that the avionics on board the chopper caused an issue....What color was the chopper? Is it possible it was a military rig? I live in near proximity to Ft. Bragg and Pope AFB and constantly have military type choppers and jets/transports overhead, I have experienced difficulties with several different types of electronic devices in the past that I have attributed to these aircraft.
Oct 07, 2006, 08:51 PM
Private Pilot/K5MBV/SCUBA
Nicetie's Avatar
Was it ....gasp, BLACK with no markings? A U.N One World Order military helicopter using nuclear power to generate the EMF pulse that renders all electronics within it's preset range inoperable could have targeted you! Good thing you weren't wearing a pacemaker. hehehe

Ken K5MBV
Oct 07, 2006, 11:34 PM
Registered Taranis User
Miami Mike's Avatar
Since you had no problems with servo control, I doubt the helicopter had anything to do with it. I'd check for a loose connection between your motor and ESC.
Latest blog entry: Taranis: Aileron-To-Rudder Mix.
Oct 07, 2006, 11:40 PM
almost slackin
I've never had a problem with this plane before or since so I find it hard to believe it could be a loose connection. I flew the rest of that pack and 4 more with no problems.
It was a civilian chopper
Oct 08, 2006, 12:07 AM
Registered Taranis User
Miami Mike's Avatar
You can't believe it's just a loose connection or something mundane like that, but you can believe it's some mysterious device in an unmarked helicopter that interfered with only your throttle channel while leaving all of your servo channels unaffected, and all this with a 2.4 GHZ spread-spectrum DX6 system.

If you learn a little more about how your radio system works, I think you'll change your mind about that.
Latest blog entry: Taranis: Aileron-To-Rudder Mix.
Oct 08, 2006, 07:13 AM
almost slackin
Thanks for the attitude Mike.
I never said it was an unmarked helicopter.
I asked the question , did the chopper shoot me down, not accuse some black ops conspiracy that you seem to want to read into my question.
The plane acted like it reached LVC, still having servo control but no throttle, it just wouldn't reset like it should.
Oct 08, 2006, 07:15 AM
almost slackin
Perhaps the proximity of the helicopter affected my esc? Made it act like it reached LVC?
Oct 09, 2006, 03:58 AM
Registered User
If a Spektrum has a BEC dropout or a shootdown (which I induced once by basically cooking it with a long-range amplified WiFi set at point blank range), it stops working completely on all channels for the same six or seven seconds you see it take to start up from cold. Since your event wasn't that, it can't have been the Spektrum.

However, ESCs might well be confused by some of the radio devices a helicopter might carry... there are VERY powerful transmitters in some avionics setups. Or it could just be pure coincidence.
Oct 09, 2006, 05:42 PM
Private Pilot/K5MBV/SCUBA
Nicetie's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew McGregor
If a Spektrum has a BEC dropout or a shootdown (which I induced once by basically cooking it with a long-range amplified WiFi set at point blank range), it stops working completely on all channels for the same six or seven seconds you see it take to start up from cold. Since your event wasn't that, it can't have been the Spektrum.

However, ESCs might well be confused by some of the radio devices a helicopter might carry... there are VERY powerful transmitters in some avionics setups. Or it could just be pure coincidence.
Andrew McGregor, Check your PMs.
Ken
Oct 20, 2006, 08:09 AM
Registered User
This is not that unusual--Check out RC Universe, Spektrum Issues.

TERHUT
Oct 20, 2006, 03:51 PM
Registered User
HowardSmith's Avatar
I've had my Spektrum lose connection (due to bad rx pack, I only fly glow) and I can tell you that if anything stops responding, then everything stops responding. If you only lost the throttle, then it's not the Spektrum.

In all my reading about people being 'shot down' using a Spektrum radio, it's always the throttle that seems to be affected. Never the ailerons or elevator etc. Also curious is that it's only ever electric planes.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Careful! Almost got shot down at Los Banos wizzzer South Bay Soaring Society 3 Jan 22, 2007 02:09 AM
Whoops! Rommel Got shot down 109Mechanik Parkflyers 11 Jan 19, 2007 01:44 PM
Discussion Can I turn my old am futaba into a budy box for my DX-6? JimTMich Radios 0 Nov 26, 2006 09:53 AM
I think i got shot down ewo Foamies (Kits) 11 Aug 16, 2004 08:26 AM
I Got Shot Down Today E-Challenged Electric Plane Talk 60 Mar 13, 2004 09:11 AM