Thread Tools
Oct 05, 2006, 03:33 AM
Registered User
Thread OP
Discussion

Where else to buy a switching volt reg for DX6


I'd to get a switching voltage regulator from Dimenson Engineering for my Spektrum DX6.
http://www.dimensionengineering.com/...ektrum_mod.htm

They are out of stock. I sent them an Email but no reply.
Where else can I buy a similar one?

Thanks.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Oct 05, 2006, 09:24 AM
Registered User
Probedude's Avatar
Digikey has some from Texas Instruments. Looks like they all need a 100uF cap on the output however vs the Dimensions engineering one that has the bypass caps built in.
Starts on this page
http://dkc3.digikey.com/PDF/T063/1813.pdf

Package size looks bigger also.
Oct 05, 2006, 06:51 PM
Registered User
curtqn:

Go for the 15 Volt Adjustable switching regulator. Dimension has that one.

Adjust it down to 3.3 V and you are in business, same price.


John
Oct 05, 2006, 11:16 PM
Registered User
Thread OP
k4mon:
The 15v has a small screw to adjust the voltage. I'm just afraid this screw is turned not fixed due to the shock,vibration to the transmitter thus change the out voltage.

Also how do you measure the out put voltage? Do you connect a voltmeter to the Vout and Gnd legs?
Oct 05, 2006, 11:59 PM
Registered User
Probedude's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by curtqn
Also how do you measure the out put voltage? Do you connect a voltmeter to the Vout and Gnd legs?
Yes. Personally I'd wait for them to get the 3.3V units back in stock.
Oct 06, 2006, 01:18 AM
Registered User
ebill3's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by curtqn
k4mon:
The 15v has a small screw to adjust the voltage. I'm just afraid this screw is turned not fixed due to the shock,vibration to the transmitter thus change the out voltage.
I would probably wait until the 3.3 volt switcher is in stock, but the adjustable one can be fixed with a small dab of goop.

Bill
Oct 12, 2006, 12:53 PM
Cat lover
Sorry to resurrect an old thread, but there is a very important piece of advice I need to correct here. Do NOT apply goop to the screw of our adjustable regulators! Certain types of glue can seep into the potentiometer and destroy it, which will basically destroy the regulator.
The potentiometers on the adjustable regulators are based on worm gears - it would be very hard to make them move with day to day use and vibrations. Just leave them as is, or possibly use hot glue gun glue if you are really paranoid.
But yeah just stick with the fixed version for this project.
Oct 12, 2006, 02:40 PM
Registered User
Probedude's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Afroman
But yeah just stick with the fixed version for this project.
When do you expect to get the fixed 3.3V version back in stock?

NEVERMIND! Just rechecked your website and I don't see OUT OF STOCK anymore.


Quick Reply
Message:

Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where can i buy new Clear fairings for 1/5 bike PPabalan Motorcycles 2 Aug 22, 2005 02:34 PM
Where Can I Buy A Camera With The Modification For The Receiver Plug Already Done ? agapornis Aerial Photography 10 Jan 25, 2005 01:56 PM
Where can I buy a CF tail boom for the Zoom/Shogun in North America? Xnaron Mini Helis 7 Aug 09, 2004 11:56 AM
Where can I buy LOOONNNGGG Control arms for HS85 servos? soholingo Electric Plane Talk 2 Jul 01, 2003 12:09 AM