Oct 04, 2006, 09:25 PM
Thread OP
Build Log

Building the 35" Spad XIII

After the Rapide build got going I started drawing up the 35" Spad. Now that the Rapide is on hold for parts, building the Spad has begun.

The model will span 35" with 400 sq. in. of wing area. Power will likely as not start out geared S-280 or so, preferably geared to swing a scale prop. Will sweat that when things get that far. Guidance will be 3 ch. R/C, but this thing is definitely large enough to add ailerons with little difficulty. Target weight is around 14 0z.
to remove ads between posts
Oct 04, 2006, 09:27 PM
Thread OP

Building the Tail Section

The outlines for the vertical and horizontal tails are laser cut to add the scollops, so no bowing is needed back here. This is all pretty straight forward stuff, really.
Oct 04, 2006, 09:36 PM
Thread OP

Building the wings

The wings are framed from the center section outward. The main spars are laser cut, and notched to insure easy and accurate alignment. The tips are bowed, and the trailing edges on the top wing laser cut. The strut attach points are incorperated into the ribs and spars, so are plenty strong, and light to boot.

With the framing done on both the top and bottom wings, the next step will be shaping and sanding, then it's on to the fuselage.

PAT
Oct 05, 2006, 07:49 AM
It flew once before...
Suscribed .

I still haven't got to building your Wacos yet . But that's ok...

-John
Oct 05, 2006, 09:55 AM
Neophyte hacker
John,

That's OK, neither have I

charlie
Oct 05, 2006, 08:35 PM
go fly! no crashes!
subscribed!
Oct 11, 2006, 05:27 AM
Thread OP

Framing the Fuselage

Wow, I didn't realize I was this far behind in updating the thread! Anyhow, the fuselage framed up nicely. The side frames are real straight forward stuff, and joind up nicely using the firewall and formers.
Oct 11, 2006, 05:58 AM
Thread OP

Making a New Tool