Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Thread Tools
Old Oct 02, 2006, 08:46 PM
stuka is offline
Find More Posts by stuka
Registered User
Discussion

Sears Clamp on Meter Question


Im getting a 0L signal and beap when powering up the DCA setting on my meter which is new to me and readings cant be done. Ive lost the bloody manual, and wonder whwat this dipslay means. I tried new batteries, and cant find the manual online, or cant ifnd the meter to replace it . Looks like they may not offer anymore. Anyone knwo what "0L" means?
Thanks
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 02, 2006, 09:04 PM
IBbob31 is offline
Find More Posts by IBbob31
Registered User
IBbob31's Avatar
Overload!!

BOB
Old Oct 02, 2006, 09:58 PM
ebill3 is offline
Find More Posts by ebill3
Registered User
ebill3's Avatar
For customer assistace, call 1-800-921-9100, M-F, 9 to 4 Pacific. All the manual says about OL is Overrange Indication. (same as overload)

Bill
Old Oct 03, 2006, 02:13 PM
hoppy is offline
Find More Posts by hoppy
Space Coast USA
hoppy's Avatar
EGADS - it looks like Sears has discontinued it.
Old Oct 03, 2006, 03:15 PM
RD Blakeslee is offline
Find More Posts by RD Blakeslee
Registered User
There are a few other reasonably-priced clamp-on ammeters on the web that have pretty good specs:

http://www.nextag.com/dc-clamp-on-meter/search-html

- RD
Old Oct 03, 2006, 04:12 PM
PGR is offline
PGR
Find More Posts by PGR
PGR
Low AltiDude
PGR's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoppy
EGADS - it looks like Sears has discontinued it.
Yup. I warned everyone back on July 30 in THIS THREAD in the Electric Plane Talk forum. Then I went to the closest Sears and bought the last 2 they had in the store for $28 ea. Now I have one in my tool bag at work, one in my tool box at home, and one in my RC flight bag.

In retrospect, I probably should have posted my warning in this thread, huh?

Pete
Old Oct 03, 2006, 04:38 PM
hoppy is offline
Find More Posts by hoppy
Space Coast USA
hoppy's Avatar
There's also a bunch on ebay.
Old Oct 03, 2006, 11:03 PM
ebill3 is offline
Find More Posts by ebill3
Registered User
ebill3's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoppy
There's also a bunch on ebay.
But, be careful. Many of the low pirced ones do not measure DC current - just AC.

Bill
Last edited by ebill3; Oct 04, 2006 at 03:07 AM.
Old Oct 04, 2006, 03:50 PM
everydayflyer is offline
Find More Posts by everydayflyer
Southern Pride
everydayflyer's Avatar
Looks the same but cost more.

http://www.powerstream.com/DC-clamp.htm

Charles
Old Oct 04, 2006, 04:29 PM
hoppy is offline
Find More Posts by hoppy
Space Coast USA
hoppy's Avatar
Let's rebadge it as lipo compatible and sell it for $100.
Old Oct 05, 2006, 10:10 AM
E-Challenged is online now
Find More Posts by E-Challenged
Registered User
E-Challenged's Avatar
I've seen them on various non-modelling websites. I'll bet Sears will have a replacement. I like mine a lot but have read about a number of defective ones.
Old Oct 05, 2006, 11:05 AM
stuka is offline
Find More Posts by stuka
Registered User
Im thinking this may be a switch issue. and wonder if dissasembling it might help. Indeed many of the clamp ons dont do dc milliamps with the unit description being misleading. The vendors dont always get the descriptions right. wonder what happened to my unit. Didnt get dropped.
If anyone knows a fore sure replacement, let us all know.
My Sear unit was always close to my wahttmeter readings, and will be missed
Thanks


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sold Sears Clamp On Meter mt_100 Aircraft - General - Miscellaneous (FS/W) 3 Oct 26, 2006 10:41 PM
SEARS clamp-on meter on sale until Sep. 13th. 717 Batteries and Chargers 74 Sep 19, 2004 01:08 AM
Sears Clamp On Meter mt_100 Electric Plane Talk 4 Jan 25, 2004 11:14 AM
Sears clamp on meter ? rcnutt Electric Plane Talk 10 Dec 18, 2003 09:52 AM
Watt meter or Sears Clamp on meter xterra Power Systems 5 Feb 20, 2003 05:43 PM