Sep 19, 2006, 12:44 AM
Thread OP
Discussion

Alfa P-47 Thunderbolt VS Great Planes F4U Corsair

Hello! I am new to electrics but not new to RC planes. For my first electric I would like to get the Alfa p47 D Thunderbolt from Hobby-lobby or the Great Planes F4U Corsair from Towerhobbies.com.

Which is better? It seems like the brushless motor in the alfa would give better performance than the brushed Great Planes? But it probably wouldn't be hard to put a brushless setup in the GP.
So I guess it comes down to how they fly and which is more fun?
Any thoughts? thanks in advance!

Dave
to remove ads between posts
Sep 19, 2006, 10:19 AM
Hey Dave, you are going to be getting a lot of different opinions here. It really is an apples to oranges choice. I think they ultimately might fly similarly (brushless issues aside), but one is truly ARF and very nice looking, the other is less detailed, and may require some massaging, but it is cheaper too. I think both people are going to like their models, but other than size and era, aren't really the same.

I have two Alfa's (including the bubble P47) and they are nice in my mind. The P47 definitely flies well! I don't own either of the other planes, but that is only because I like brushless and hate to pay extra for soemthing I won't use (stock brushed motors). The GP planes seemed to have some quality issues, at least in the beginning, but for the price seem to be a good option.

Maybe what i am trying to say is that they are different planes but neither manufacturer would likely disappoint you in flight characterisitcs.

That's just my opinion though.
Sep 19, 2006, 10:43 AM
MN WATTS Master
I've flown both and if built right both can be great. They both fly well on brushless power.

The alfa is easier to work with and is a little more forgiving in the build but not by much.