Aug 18, 2006, 11:03 PM
I'm not flying backwards!
Thread OP
Discussion

** Kline-Fogleman Airfoiled Flying Wing **

After reading the comments regarding the Kline-Fogleman airfoil, examining the patents and thinking of the possibilities of this super simple airfoil, my experimental nature got the better of me and I had to try it. The patent papers clearly show a pronounced step approximately 40-50% of the chord, similar to the step on a set of floats.

I elected to try it on a Zagnutz type airframe, both for it's simplicity and figuring , if there was not much but wing, any benefits and deficiencies of the airfoil would be clearly apparent. I made the wingspan 48"

The first thing it showed was the simplicity of the airframe as I built the whole airframe in 2 hours (and I'm a slow builder).

Secondly, it was pretty strong for it's weight. I used a 1/4" square spruce spar for 36" of it's span, leaving the tip 6" on each side unsparred. It was light and strong. Carbon fiber would be lighter but of course, much more expensive and I'm cheap. All adhesive was hot melt and occasional epoxy.

The power plant was an old, half worn out GWS 300 "c" drive with a 9070 prop I had lying around. I didn't care about power, I only needed enough to move the wing through the air.

Radio equipment was my kid's GWS transmitter and reciever, an old elevon mixer, two cheap servos and two generic 1300 mah lipos, all cannibalized from the kid's Blu Baby. Of course, if the plane flew, he could have it (lol)

The Kline-Fogelman airfoil should not fly. The pronounced step on the underside creates a low pressure pocket UNDER the wing, totally contrary to Bernoulli's Theorum. Kline and Fogleman claim the low pressure zone under the wing actually propels the wing forward, but truthfully, I had serious doubts. After all, 100 years of aerodynamic theory can't be wrong.