Lumenier RB2205C-12 2400KV SKITZO Ceramic Bearing Motor
Thread Tools
Old Jul 24, 2006, 05:20 PM
Randy Due is offline
Find More Posts by Randy Due
Am I registered?
Randy Due's Avatar
Question

Anybody Using An FMA Co-Pilot On A Flying Wing?


Just wondering what kind of results you are getting. I'm thinking about building another AP wing this winter, when I have more time. I liked my other AP wings for their wind handling ability. I just always wished that they were a little more "hands free", like my conventional planes. Sounds like the co-pilot should help in that area, but I'd like to hear more from people that use it on this type of plane.

Thanks,

Randy
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 24, 2006, 06:03 PM
Talontsi96 is offline
Find More Posts by Talontsi96
Registered User
Talontsi96's Avatar
I'm using one.. and it works great...CentTex and Myron use co-pilots on their wings with great results as well..
Old Jul 24, 2006, 06:34 PM
Randy Due is offline
Find More Posts by Randy Due
Am I registered?
Randy Due's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Talontsi96
I'm using one.. and it works great...CentTex and Myron use co-pilots on their wings with great results as well..
Does it handle tree crowded areas okay? Thanks.

Randy
Old Jul 24, 2006, 07:52 PM
Talontsi96 is offline
Find More Posts by Talontsi96
Registered User
Talontsi96's Avatar
It seems to work flawlesly in all areas that I've tried it. Sometimes you need to adjust the trim a bit and I usually calibrate it every time I use it, but had no problems with it in any areas and I've flown in all types.
Old Jul 24, 2006, 08:39 PM
lvspark is offline
Find More Posts by lvspark
Registered User
lvspark's Avatar
The co-pilot works great from me on a wing and just about everything else!
I have never calibrated mine in tree areas, but you could calibrate it in the open then enable it once you get above the trees??

Hands free with a ShakerAP @ 3/4 throttle into 20 some MPH headwinds...
www.rsnw.com/hands.wmv
Old Jul 25, 2006, 02:23 PM
Randy Due is offline
Find More Posts by Randy Due
Am I registered?
Randy Due's Avatar
Are yall using the FS8 or CPD4?
Old Jul 25, 2006, 02:28 PM
Talontsi96 is offline
Find More Posts by Talontsi96
Registered User
Talontsi96's Avatar
I hear Centex and Myron use the FS8 with great sucess and they just love it. I'm a cheap bastard and use the CPD4 with good sucess..
Old Jul 25, 2006, 02:43 PM
Randy Due is offline
Find More Posts by Randy Due
Am I registered?
Randy Due's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Talontsi96
I hear Centex and Myron use the FS8 with great sucess and they just love it. I'm a cheap bastard and use the CPD4 with good sucess..
Glad to see I'm not the only cheapskate tightwad around! I was trying to decide if I really needed another rx or not. Wasn't really sure if that was the only difference between the 2 models. If the CPD4 works, then that is probably what I'd get. It will be a while before I start on anything. Too busy now. Just trying to get some ideas and have been wishing that I had another AP wing since the wind has been a little gusty lately. Thanks.

Randy
Old Jul 26, 2006, 03:23 AM
lvspark is offline
Find More Posts by lvspark
Registered User
lvspark's Avatar
I have the CPD4
Old Jul 26, 2006, 03:46 PM
Randy Due is offline
Find More Posts by Randy Due
Am I registered?
Randy Due's Avatar
Okay, sounds like the CPD4 will work for my purpose. What rx and esc are yall using successfully with the co-pilot? I will probably want to use either my Electron 6 or Futaba 7 channel rx. I have only Castle Creation esc's. Probably doesn't matter what the tx is, but I'll be using a Futaba 6exa.
Last edited by Randy Due; Jul 26, 2006 at 04:12 PM.
Old Jul 26, 2006, 04:15 PM
Randy Due is offline
Find More Posts by Randy Due
Am I registered?
Randy Due's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by lvspark
The co-pilot works great from me on a wing and just about everything else!
I have never calibrated mine in tree areas, but you could calibrate it in the open then enable it once you get above the trees??

Hands free with a ShakerAP @ 3/4 throttle into 20 some MPH headwinds...
www.rsnw.com/hands.wmv

I just now watched your video. Thanks for the link. That's what I want it to do!!!! I think I need to try one of these, when I get around to building the wing.
Old Jul 26, 2006, 06:12 PM
Talontsi96 is offline
Find More Posts by Talontsi96
Registered User
Talontsi96's Avatar
I use the HiTec elecron 6 rX in my wings and it works great.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion how many are using the fma co-pilot on a mini jmctague Mini Helis 2 Sep 27, 2006 03:17 AM
FS: FMA CO-Pilot on EBAY gromitvt10 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 0 Apr 17, 2004 10:05 PM
FS: FMA CO-Pilot on EBAY gromitvt10 Aircraft - Fuel - Airplanes (FS/W) 0 Apr 17, 2004 10:04 PM
FMA Co-Pilot on Rascal 40 IceDancer Sport Planes 8 Sep 25, 2003 10:05 PM
FMA Co Pilot on a Corona? KenP Electric Heli Talk 58 Mar 24, 2003 08:48 PM