Jul 19, 2006, 08:11 PM
Thread OP
Question

Blade 4in-1 CCPM protection FUSE mod wire gauge

I have my fuses and solder ready to do this MOD but I want to be able to move the FUSE a little away from the motor. If I am correct the FUSE is in between the orangish wire and the motor it self ?

If so I want to be able to run a short wire from the motor's terminal to one end of fuse and then orange wire to other end of fuse. This is so that if I blow one I can pop it off a lot quicker than if it were directly attached to the termminal. There also seems to be some sort of yellow resistor attached to that motor terminal and I dont want to mess with it.

OK... here is the question. I am not good with wire gauges. I have some wire from the PSU of a PC/computer. Would that be an ok gauge to use. Or how about the solid core copper wire found in ethernet cables ?
to remove ads between posts
Jul 19, 2006, 08:19 PM
"Heli-Pimp"
Use the Power supply wire
Jul 19, 2006, 08:39 PM
Thread OP
Quote:
Originally Posted by kdill2160
Use the Power supply wire

ok . thank you.
Jul 20, 2006, 12:31 AM
Just call me crash.
Quote:
Originally Posted by X3n0
... I want to be able to run a short wire from the motor's terminal to one end of fuse and then orange wire to other end of fuse. This is so that if I blow one I can pop it off a lot quicker than if it were directly attached to the termminal. There also seems to be some sort of yellow resistor attached to that motor terminal and I dont want to mess with it....
In all truth you are better off bending the fuse at 90 degrees and soldering it to the terminal. This is because when you do this it holds it solid and it won't be able to bounce around. It's not any harder to solder/desolder, trust me on that one, done it many times.

Put a goodly blob of solder on the underside of the fuse tab, rest it on the terminal, and heat the tab from above, when you feel it "drop," you're done with that side.