Jul 07, 2006, 01:49 PM
Bob
Thread OP
Help!

How repair carbon boom? Broke at v-tail joint so can't wrap with carbon tow....

Hi. I'm new to carbon material in airplanes and just crashed my glider.

It has a 30 inch carbon boom that is glued to the fuse. The tail of the boom is slotted vertically for a distance of 3 inches. A 3-inch long combination v-tail mount / tail skid is slid in to this slot in the tail and gluded with what looks like thin CA.

One half of the 3 inch slotted tail is cracked; the other is hanging by a carbon thread.

I wish it had broken away from the v-mount, closer to the fuse, so I could just wrap it, but it cracked right at the beginning of the v-mount so using carbon tow would be more of a laying-on parallel-to-the-boom process.

Question:
Is this fixable? I thought about epoxy alone. Then epoxy and carbon tow. Don't want to add much weight to the tail, of course, so I wondered if thin or medium CA could work by itself?

Thanks for your help,
Bob
to remove ads between posts
Jul 07, 2006, 03:41 PM
Can you post a picture?

In general, it's not a good design practice to cut slots or notches in tubes. A proper mount would have included a ring section to fit over the boom.
Jul 07, 2006, 09:17 PM
Erk
Erk
All thumbs, no scents
Sounds to me like your best bet is to reinforce the boom with some CF flat strip on either side, front to back, then wrap that with tows. Or if the boom's got room inside, you might get away with an internal repair done similarly, except you'll still want to wrap the outside.

HTH,

Erik
Jul 07, 2006, 09:21 PM
Bob
Thread OP
Sorry I can't do pictures yet. It is a 4 inch slot with one half broken almost free; the other side is cracked. A single piece of carbon made with a v-mount on top and skid on the bottom slips into the up-down slot.