Jul 05, 2006, 08:07 PM
Happy bluesman
Thread OP
Question

Electric power for dummies

Hello all,
I'm new to electric flight and I have a lot of questions 'bout engine sizes, batteries, controllers, etc., etc. Is there a site or perhaps a book on the subject where I can gather usefull info?
Thanks in advance.

hrbeta
to remove ads between posts
Jul 06, 2006, 09:16 AM
Master of 1 point landing
Quote:
Originally Posted by hrbeta
Hello all,
I'm new to electric flight and I have a lot of questions 'bout engine sizes, batteries, controllers, etc., etc. Is there a site or perhaps a book on the subject where I can gather usefull info?
Thanks in advance.

hrbeta
Yeah, this one - ask away and read all you can in your spare time
Jul 06, 2006, 10:37 AM
Best thing is maybe to tell us what model, or type of model, you're thinking of getting, or what kind of flying you like to do (you're new into electric flight, does that mean you've got glow experience?). Then you'll get plenty of suggestions about motors, ESCs, and batteries, and you'll begin to get a feel for it all.
Jul 06, 2006, 12:14 PM
hi there hrbeta,

Are you new to RC or new to the electric way of thinking?

I'm about three months new to the hobby and have spent *hours* reading threads on this web site. I can't agree more with the thought that you've found the place to do some good reading and learning.

Save yourself some of the bucks and frustrations I've learned and just read for a few weeks. RESIST the urge to buy that pretty sailplane and dig a $200 hold in the ground.

If you're hands on and have some bucks to toss around, may I suggest s GWS slow stick (or similar). Make the stock system work. Learn how to upgrade the battery to a LiPo first. That is, learn how to change one *easy* variable.

then read up on brusheless motors and ESCs for your slow stick and make a not-so-slow stick. I've gotten mine to where I can fly it on one Thunder Power 2100 mAh battery for 25-30 minutes!