Jun 12, 2006, 12:44 PM
Thread OP
Discussion

What else should I get

I am completely new to this hobby, but travel to the Apollo 11 field in Van Nuys nearly every weekend. The more I go, the more I want to fly.

I have bought a Spektrum system (after given much advice)
I will be buying an Easystar and I believe then come with a motor.

What else should I get?

Battery? what kind? how many? Not ready for Lippo's?
Charger? what kind?

Anything that can be suggested?

Thanks
Paul
to remove ads between posts
Jun 12, 2006, 02:50 PM
www.hobby-lobby.com has a complete outfit of the best components on their easystar page. They use a 12 amp jeti microprocessor speed control ($37.90),a 7 cell 1100Mah nimh battery(2590),a graupner ultramat 5 peak charger,and 2 HS-55 [email protected] $16.50 each. You could also use HS-81's or gws naro standard servos. I recomend getting a dynomite prophet sport charger cause it costs about 1/2 what the graupner ultramat 5 costs. the prophet sport is available at www.dynamiterc.com. if you dont want to shop online than your LHS should have most of this stuff.

cmf
Jun 12, 2006, 02:53 PM
I almost forgot www.hobby-lobby.com has a ready to fly version of the easystar for $189

cmf
Jun 12, 2006, 02:54 PM
An itch?. Scratch build.
kangman

If you don't mind trawling through a few threads, the best place to find everything on the Easystar is to use 'Search'

If you look near the top of the page there is a menu bar with 'Search' at the right hand end. Click on it then type easystar.

You should get a lot of threads with all sorts of information on recommendations, hints and tips, possible problems, batteries, and upgrades.

Hope this helps.
Jun 12, 2006, 03:12 PM
Thread OP