Thread Tools
Old May 07, 2006, 07:41 PM
wakeboarder2342 is offline
Find More Posts by wakeboarder2342
Registered User
Discussion

running 2 brushless motors on 1 speed control?


I have a mini twin speed wing and i installed 2 feiago brushless motors on a 20 amp brushless esc, however it will not run both motors, one will hardly spin and gets really really hot while the other runs normally.


i have ran double motors on brushed speed controls lots of times with no problems but never tried a brushless motor.


is this not possible? or what am i doing wrong?


thanks for any input
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old May 07, 2006, 07:46 PM
pmackenzie is online now
Find More Posts by pmackenzie
I don't want to "Switch Now"
pmackenzie's Avatar
Some combinations work, others don't.
You have found one of the non working ones
You could try a different ESC, or just install two of them.
Pat MacKenzie
RCG Plus Member
Old May 08, 2006, 11:46 PM
Larry3215 is offline
Find More Posts by Larry3215
Permanently Banned
Larry3215's Avatar
More often than not it does not work to have 2 motors on 1 esc.

Do NOT continue to try to run those motors that way. You will burn up the motor or esc if you continue.

Good luck!

Larry
Old May 09, 2006, 07:58 AM
rcflyer11 is offline
Find More Posts by rcflyer11
Registered User
rcflyer11's Avatar
Well... here is a twin combo that does work well on a single ESC. Many flights with excellent results.

Randy
Model Airplane Engineering
Old May 09, 2006, 09:29 AM
mcharles13 is offline
Find More Posts by mcharles13
Jaded Flyer
mcharles13's Avatar
what makes this combo work? it looks like they are just spliced together using servo wire.
Old May 09, 2006, 02:47 PM
rcflyer11 is offline
Find More Posts by rcflyer11
Registered User
rcflyer11's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcharles13
what makes this combo work? it looks like they are just spliced together using servo wire.
Exactly... no magic here. Dunno why they work, but they do

Randy
Old May 09, 2006, 04:01 PM
Larry3215 is offline
Find More Posts by Larry3215
Permanently Banned
Larry3215's Avatar
The motors the guys use at MAE are fairly hi quality and pretty well matched and run at much lower power levels and lower loads. All those things are plus factors in getting it to work.

Im not sure, but I seem to remember they test each setup before shipping?

In any case, brushed setups are a completely different animal.

Larry
Old May 09, 2006, 05:36 PM
jimsp is offline
Find More Posts by jimsp
Registered User
jimsp's Avatar
When using two ESCís what do you do about the low voltage cutoff? Even if you set it the same on both ESC itís unlikely both would cutoff exactly at the same time. It seems that once one shuts down the battery voltage will jump and other may not shut down. Suddenly losing one motor on a twin can be a tricky situation to deal with.
Old May 09, 2006, 06:03 PM
Argyle is offline
Find More Posts by Argyle
Wind is the devil.
Argyle's Avatar
I think with dual ESCs that both run from a single power source, and should cut off at the same time, or VERY close to the same time, assuming you have duplicate ESCs of same production run.
Old May 09, 2006, 07:28 PM
rcflyer11 is offline
Find More Posts by rcflyer11
Registered User
rcflyer11's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry3215
Im not sure, but I seem to remember they test each setup before shipping?
Yes... Westport tests each prewired pair before shipping them to us.

Regarding the question about using 2 ESC's... I believe it's customary to disable the BEC on one of them.

Randy
Model Airplane Engineering
Old May 09, 2006, 07:33 PM
vintage1 is offline
Find More Posts by vintage1
Registered User
vintage1's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimsp
When using two ESCís what do you do about the low voltage cutoff? Even if you set it the same on both ESC itís unlikely both would cutoff exactly at the same time. It seems that once one shuts down the battery voltage will jump and other may not shut down. Suddenly losing one motor on a twin can be a tricky situation to deal with.
Then don't fly the pack flat, or use something like a SMART BEC to drop power to both simultaneously.

Heck people have been flyimng slimers without a central tank and without an LVC for years - go over the time limit and pay the price...


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running 2 Brushless Motors on 1 Controller FuryPilot Power Systems 29 Aug 22, 2004 10:14 AM
two brushless motors on one speed controller? Xnaron Power Systems 4 Jun 04, 2003 08:10 AM
2 rushless motors & one speed control Martinlb Scale Kit/Scratch Built 17 Oct 23, 2002 05:45 AM
2 brushless motors on one speedo? juantrinidad Foamies (Kits) 0 Jul 01, 2002 03:23 AM