May 04, 2006, 09:21 AM
Thread OP
Discussion

Rebellion 3D Laser Cut Foamy (Now a Balsa Version in the making)

The Rebellion 3D is my first foamy design. I have been sitting on the fence as to start a thread on it or not. Well, I guess I fell off onto the thread side of the fence! I'm still very new to 3D, and can tell you the Rebellion 3D has been the easiest plane to 3D I have flown (as far as foamies go). It may sound a little biased, but it is true.

I was all excited about kitting them, until I started talking with a few friends (some in the R/C industry) about the sales lifespan of a foamy. Correct me if I’m wrong, but so many guys are designing them now and more and more people seem to want to build them from plans, instead of buying kits. My take is the market seems flooded in the foamy world, unless you are coming out with some kind of novelty foamy (i.e. Hydro foamy, Missile foamy, etc…) or unless you are already a well establish foamy company like 3DFoamy, or RCXPlanes to name a few. I could be wrong, but that is the way I see it. Therefore, unless I get some positive feedback on my design and interest in wanting it kitted, I will probably not kit it.

Attached you will find the Rebellion 3D Builders plans PDF. Unfortunately I do not have a PDF illustrator to tile them or offer full size plans. If one of you would like to tile them or make them available as a full size plan, I would appreciate it.

Video of standard kit

In the Rebellion 3D design, I have taken positive features from different foamy designs and put them in all into one kit. With the deluxe kits, the lightened and laminated wing is similar to the ones seen in other kits.