Thread Tools
Old Apr 19, 2006, 10:09 PM
RC-newbie is offline
Find More Posts by RC-newbie
EPP Killer
RC-newbie's Avatar
Discussion

problem with the Spektrum DX6


let me start by saying I LOVE my DX6. I tried to read all the other DX6 threads but after about 50 or so pages I had crossed eyes . Anyway, on to my problem:
As long as I turn the Tx on first, I have no problems. But, if I forget and hook the battery in my plane up and turn it on first, the ESC will beep but the plane will not respond. It seems like there is nothing I can do to get it to respond...I turn the reciever off and on, turn the plane off and on, unplug the battery and plug it back in etc. If I let it sit for an unspecified period of time, turn the Tx on first then plug the battery in the plane and turn it on, then everything works. This has happened 2 times in the 3 weeks I have had the DX6. I am a newb at this hobby but not at electronics. The first time it happened was when I first bought it and took it to the LHS to make sure I had everything set right. The owner plugged the battery in first and couldnt get the plane to respond and didn't know what to do...let the plane sit and tried later and everything fired up fine.

Sorry this is so long, just tried to explain everything in hopes someone has an answer.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 20, 2006, 02:57 AM
gws-rc-models.ch is offline
Find More Posts by gws-rc-models.ch
gws-online-dealer
gws-rc-models.ch's Avatar
Hmm... Sounds more like the problem is caused by the ESC....

In fact itīs not a "real problem" since you should turn on the transmitter first anyway...

Regards, Sven
Old Apr 20, 2006, 07:46 AM
RC-newbie is offline
Find More Posts by RC-newbie
EPP Killer
RC-newbie's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by gws-rc-models.ch
In fact itīs not a "real problem" since you should turn on the transmitter first anyway...

Yes, I realize this...but I am still new and sometimes get a little excited
Old Apr 20, 2006, 08:24 AM
SabreHawk is offline
Find More Posts by SabreHawk
Off we go.............
SabreHawk's Avatar
Yeah, I almost do this plug the batt. in before turning on the TX thing alot. It comes from my old days of having an on-off switch on my planes so Im still somewhat unaccustomed to this.
But, it is the oldest and most important rule in R/C to always turn on TX first, and reciver second. It's the simple fact that you never want your reciever powered up without a signal being transmitted to it.

In the case of our electrics, with the modern speed controls they must have a signal from the TX. as soon as they are energized so that the throttle position is sensed right away.The speed control requires this to arm itself, otherwise it will not if it doesnt sense any throttle signal as it powers up.
It's one of it's safety features to protect us from the motor starting up as soon as the speed control is powered up.

Hehe, sorta the speed controls way of saying that you messed up, do it over again, and this time right.
Old Apr 20, 2006, 08:36 PM
one2lose is offline
Find More Posts by one2lose
Registered User
Not true for the DX-6. With the transmitter off, there will be no throttle signal. The reciver will not accept ANY signal or interfearance except from the transmitter it is bound to. In my 6 planes, there is servo centering only, No twitch,glitch,or noise. Another great thing about having a DX-6.
Old Apr 21, 2006, 09:28 AM
RC-newbie is offline
Find More Posts by RC-newbie
EPP Killer
RC-newbie's Avatar
thanks guys...like I said, I am still new to this and stepped right into this 2.4 technology. This is my first radio and I really do like it, I just need to get used to it. On further inspection, I found a loose connection between the ESC and Rx which could have contributed to my problem...I will keep you all posted.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Range and setup problems with Spektrum DX6 2.4gHz 6-ch Radio System pkrska Radios 20 Jul 09, 2008 08:36 PM
Careful! First glitch with Spektrum DX6 system thanhTran Micro Helis 29 Mar 21, 2007 04:34 AM
Discussion Problem with Spektrum DX6 radio & dual Aileron Servos oeginc Radios 8 Oct 17, 2006 07:22 PM
Discussion Use Lipo with Spektrum DX6 curtqn Radios 5 Jul 31, 2006 04:18 AM
Help! Ikarus ECO7 with Spektrum DX6 gws-rc-models.ch Electric Heli Talk 4 Apr 20, 2006 03:15 AM