May 14, 2001, 01:08 PM
Thread OP

Newbie needs help!!!!

I'm totally new in this hobby. Does anyone have any suggestions how I should start to fly an R/C airplane and what to buy?
I'm thinking about getting a Aero Cruiser RTF from Hobbico. I found this package at towerhobbies.com. Is this the right one to start off?
to remove ads between posts
May 14, 2001, 03:29 PM
heli on the brain
...you definately should start with a slower flying, self- corecting type of plane. Ive heard great things about the T52 trainer and also think that a Wingo/Poppy/Soarstar would be great (i have one and have taught four people to fly on it). Having an experienced flyer show you the ropes is the preferred way, which will save you lots of time, money and frustration.

...just remember, "stick to the low side" when coming out of a turn and you'll be fine.

DeZ
May 15, 2001, 10:56 AM
Hi, welcome to the hobby. I taught myself 100% on a Zagi. My advice, go to your local hobby shop (LHS) make some new friends there, ask them for their advice. Many times someone there in the store will help you out with building and it's maiden flight. One thing I always recommend to someone who is just learning to fly, don't pull up too hard on launch,,,airspeed is your friend,,stalls are bad. Good luck again, get some help,,everyone needs it. It'll save you time and especially money. Good luck. Cruz
May 15, 2001, 02:20 PM
I'm disoriented!
Start reading everything here in the E-Zone for a month before you order anything.

I recommend the T-52 or Push-E-Cat. They are taped foam and very forgiving in a crash, which you will have a lot of.