Marston Pterodactyl - RC Groups
Mar 16, 2006, 05:26 AM
Build Log

Marston 80" Pterodactyl

See the note at the bottom of this post regarding a PDF downloadable copy of this thread.

I ordered my kit many months ago now and I have decided that it is time to clear off the desk and get started.

This kit is a 'short' or 'builders' kit. I am a slow builder anyway and having to locate a number of the bits and pieces as I go will slow it down more. However, I will try and keep posting information here as I go along.

Key Stats

Wing Span: 80 inches
Web Page: http://www.pteroworks.com/pteros.htm
RTF weight: 68 oz (with Li-poly)
Power: twin brushless motors
Controls: full house (Aileron, Flaps, V-tail, Throttle)

What arrived in the box?

The kit arrived well packed with the following:

- instructions, 3 pages
- two (2) copies of the full size plans
- laser cut ply and balsa sheets (all bundled and protected with some spare wood)

The plans are excellent, CAD drawn, full sized sheets.

Suggested Equipment List

Servos: 2 x HS-81 for V-tail, 4 x HS-5125 for wings
Motors: 2 x Mega 16/25/3
Prop: 2 x APC 6x4E
ESC: 2 x CC25
BEC: Ultimate BEC
Battery: 3S2P 2600 (ie. Qty 2 of 3S Polyquest 2600)

Additional Building Material

You will need additional building material:

- spruce sticks
- balsa sticks
- balsa sheet
- brass tubes for wing joiners
- CF rod, tubes and flats
- covering material
- misc. hardware for control surfaces etc.

Important Information - 24 Feb 2009

A great downloadable version of this thread is available as a set of PDF files. These are all downloadable in posts #368 & #369 in the thread on this page https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...492408&page=25.

Flight videos of the the end result of this build thread can be found here: https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=810466

A few posts with photos of the 'dactyl:
https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...&postcount=299
https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...&postcount=307