Thread Tools
Old Feb 26, 2006, 09:44 PM
jiggiba is offline
Find More Posts by jiggiba
Registered Foam Abuser
jiggiba's Avatar
Help!

Running Two Controllers


I'm setting up a plane with two motors and controllers. I'll be using the newest CC25 controllers. Do I have to remove one power lead on one of the controllers or can i leave both BEC's connected?
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 27, 2006, 12:20 AM
ham2405 is offline
Find More Posts by ham2405
KC5UH transmits -------->
ham2405's Avatar
No removing wires, CC controllers are built to work in parallel.

David
Old Feb 27, 2006, 02:33 PM
diver don is offline
Find More Posts by diver don
"Each Day Is A Lesson"
diver don's Avatar
Just remember that you don't get twice the servo support with 2 ESC.
Bernie once said it's closer to 1.5 not 2x.

DD
Old Feb 27, 2006, 02:42 PM
pda4you is offline
Find More Posts by pda4you
Registered User
pda4you's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by ham2405
No removing wires, CC controllers are built to work in parallel.

David
Ummmm

Check that - I was told it works with some, but not all.

https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=372016

The thunderbirds are a noteable exception.....

You should also be cautious (I would suspect) about combining old and new PHX 25's as their BEC's were of different ratings.

MIke
Old Feb 27, 2006, 02:58 PM
Joe Ford is offline
Find More Posts by Joe Ford
Castle Tech
Joe Ford's Avatar
Mike,

BEC's on the T-birds can be paralleled, but they do not offer the programming functions necessary for multi-motor setups.

Joe
Old Feb 27, 2006, 03:13 PM
pda4you is offline
Find More Posts by pda4you
Registered User
pda4you's Avatar
Quote:
BEC's on the T-birds can be paralleled
Cool, so the BEC's can be, but the controllers should not...

Same result - don't do it!

So can you take an old PHX 25 (1.5amp) and new one with 3amp and have that work?

Truthfully I have been told by others to just use one ESC anyway. Several report very good results. Might be worth a try.

Mike
Old Feb 27, 2006, 06:42 PM
Hovertime is offline
Find More Posts by Hovertime
Always right
Hovertime's Avatar
BEC circuit is a very simple voltage regulator, and does not interfere with one another, you can use them in parallel as you please, ESC age and generation does not matter. (as long as its 5V, which may change in the future)

You can also use 2 Thunderbirds for 2 motors on one plane . Phoenix line is simply a higher end esc line, which offers more features, for higher precision, which makes them better candidates for multimotor planes, helis etc.

(BTW - Thunderbirds are even used in certain planes to drive 2 motors of one esc, with great success. "Jinx" come to mind)
Old Feb 27, 2006, 07:32 PM
jiggiba is offline
Find More Posts by jiggiba
Registered Foam Abuser
jiggiba's Avatar
The reason I wanted to run both BEC's is because I'm running two seperate battery packs and figured that having two seperate hook ups would give me a "fail safe operation" excluding the RX.
They are in a Multiplex "Movie Star".
Old Mar 01, 2006, 01:17 PM
Bernie Wolfard is offline
Find More Posts by Bernie Wolfard
Castle's Chaos Corner
Bernie Wolfard's Avatar
Jiggiba,

A typical twin set up is:

• One ESC for each motor Y harnessed on the receiver, both BECS enabled.
• One large battery Y harnessed to the ESCS, keeps the same voltage to each ESC
• Change ‘Throttle Type’ to ‘Fixed’
• Change ‘Cut Off Type’ to ‘Soft Cut Off’

The goal here is to keep both motors running at the same speed and to not have one cut off completely at ‘Low Voltage Cut Off.’

Bernie
Old Mar 01, 2006, 09:53 PM
Joe Ford is offline
Find More Posts by Joe Ford
Castle Tech
Joe Ford's Avatar
Current limiting disabled as well.
Old Mar 02, 2006, 08:09 PM
jiggiba is offline
Find More Posts by jiggiba
Registered Foam Abuser
jiggiba's Avatar
Thanks for the reply Bernie.
One of the things I want to do with this set up is to controll both motors seperatly. Program some mixing with the rudder-motors. So I don't want to run a Y for the esc hookups.

Eric
Old Mar 02, 2006, 08:43 PM
derway is offline
Find More Posts by derway
Registered User
I can see no info on the CC website about a phoenix 25 with 3 amp BEC.

The BEC current is still shown as 1.5 amps, in the users manual, which is the only document I can find that shows the BEC capability.

Is there really a new one? Put the data on your website!

Is it really 3 amp continuous?

Thanks!
Don
Old Mar 02, 2006, 09:50 PM
Hovertime is offline
Find More Posts by Hovertime
Always right
Hovertime's Avatar
It is really out, its there, its old news already...
Manual is not up to date...
Its really 3A continuous, if you are using 4 or 5 NiMH battery pack....

You need to read up and try this new feature, called search
Old Mar 03, 2006, 12:43 AM
derway is offline
Find More Posts by derway
Registered User
Alas, I figure the best place to find out the real specs on a product, are at the website of the manufacturer. Which is really why I posted here, to get them to update their website after they finish moving.
Old Mar 03, 2006, 11:49 PM
Hovertime is offline
Find More Posts by Hovertime
Always right
Hovertime's Avatar
Yeah thats so true... such info is really due for some updates...


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running two brush-less controllers flame out at 0’. patrickegan Castle Creations 15 Sep 17, 2005 11:17 PM
Anybody have any luck running two PJS300's on one ESC? Quacker Power Systems 2 Dec 10, 2004 10:41 PM
More power: two controllers driving a single brushless motor Ron van Sommeren Power Systems 9 Aug 02, 2004 07:05 AM
Series connector for running two seperate lipo packs Ed Waldrep Electric Ducted Fan Jet Talk 4 May 25, 2004 08:34 PM
Question for those of you who have 2 ESC running Two motors kushal_22 Foamies (Kits) 1 Dec 26, 2002 08:47 PM