Thread Tools
Feb 19, 2006, 01:11 PM
Registered User
Discussion

AEROACE Which Receiver Serial Number Shuts Off When Out of Range ?


I just checked the serial numbers of 7 Aeroace receivers (the numbers are on the gray plastic under the plane).

The interesting part is that 2 of them, both with the same serial number, shut down when out of range. The others did not.

The 2 "good ones" both purchased in Canada and both on Channel B, had serial number 051012 which I presume are date codes.

Serial numbers 051023 and 050916 did not shut down.

I was interested to see if others had the same findings.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Feb 19, 2006, 01:47 PM
Registered User
T Man's Avatar
Mine is 050826 and it does not shut off when it gets out of range. In fact, I almost lost it on a roof top a minute ago becuase of this problem.
Feb 19, 2006, 02:31 PM
Registered User
Looks like they upgraded the software.
Feb 19, 2006, 02:43 PM
Registered User
I don't think so.

The serial numbers are most likely date codes Y,M,D.

Many of the newer ones do not shut down. I was interested in this to determine whether retuning might be a factor (although it would seem unlikely) or whether a part change might be responsible.
Last edited by Martyn McKinney; Feb 19, 2006 at 06:25 PM.
Feb 19, 2006, 04:51 PM
Registered User
I have 051012SL channel B and it shuts down.
Feb 19, 2006, 06:02 PM
Registered User
Looks like that serial number is a winner !

Probably worthwhile to take two different receivers and compare them for any component differences.

There is of course the possibility that the microprocessors in the receiver have different code.
Feb 19, 2006, 06:18 PM
Registered User
The Fonz's Avatar
That is GOOD information!

For those of you who don't know, when some of them go out of range, they will continue to fly, fly and fly some more. Despite your most fevered prayers to fall from the sky and better yet hit something, they seem to somehow look back at you and say,"SUCKER", start chasing me!!!!


The Fonz
Feb 19, 2006, 08:13 PM
Realtired User
mharms's Avatar
I tested my older AA and about 10-15 sec after loss of signal, it goes into a constant turn (forget which way) at reduced throttle and descends slowly to the ground. It seems to be a programmed behavior. My newest AA cuts totally off about 2 sec after LOS. I posted serial numbers, etc, a while back.

Mark
Feb 19, 2006, 08:20 PM
Registered User
Thanks !

I just checked your post.

https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...&postcount=126

It looks like 051205 is also good.
Feb 20, 2006, 01:45 AM
Registered User
Hi, New Poster, I have two b channel planes that shut off: serial number 051012SL and one a channel plane that also shuts off: serial number 051018SL. The two b channel planes have the orange and yellow coloring and the a channel is the black and silver. I have bought some other planes with that 051012SL and they didn't always shut down after turning off the transmitter. Not sure it is a positive identifier of the desired trait.

Martin I was wondering if you think it would be possible to rig a down actuater to the lowest throttle setting. Thanks Glenn
Feb 20, 2006, 04:50 AM
RC-Kraut
relaxr's Avatar

general question . . .


Hi all - one question in general: your aeroaces (USA etc.) and our x-twins (Europe) are they identical (just different marketed, and colored), are they produced from silverlit, is it split production, is it licence products........ does anyone know?

got one Chanel C and A (dont have the number now) - both fly pretty away when out of reach . I heard, the second generation (new and old plane desingns) shall be fail safe. But they will arrive in march or so....

Yes the getting out of reach theme is the only time when we pray for a low Lipo

ciao
Last edited by relaxr; Feb 20, 2006 at 05:13 AM.
Feb 20, 2006, 08:12 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by om15
Martin I was wondering if you think it would be possible to rig a down actuater to the lowest throttle setting. Thanks Glenn
Worthwhile to try a single surface mount OR gate.

When both motor inputs are low this will make the output low and sink current through the actuator.

If either input is high (meaning that the motors are running) the output is high and the actuator is shut off.

A driver transistor and capacitor filter might also be necessary if a low resistance actuator is used.
Last edited by Martyn McKinney; Feb 20, 2006 at 08:31 AM.
Feb 21, 2006, 01:18 AM
Registered User
Martin, Thank you for the advice didn't even think off connecting it to the motor leads. Will do some research into transistors and capacitors as I am a newbie and will let you know what I come up with. Thanks again, Glenn
Feb 21, 2006, 08:25 PM
Future is RTF!!
PCola-Flyer's Avatar
Yeah my aeroace seems to keep the same throttle input when out of range.
I had to chase after mine earlier this evening due to it being out of range and motors not shutting off
Feb 21, 2006, 11:25 PM
Flying motor mount master
fly_boy99's Avatar
Funny, mine just lost signal tonite and flew onto my neighbors roof!!! DOH!!!

Channel B too!!!

I wish mine had the turn software applied...


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Futaba FF9 (9C) Super 35MHz - Which receiver for high range? Madrox Radios 6 Feb 02, 2010 08:56 AM
Discussion heli shuts off when setting up kleaners Mini Helis 7 Jul 08, 2007 08:55 PM
How do you know when you are going out of range? Smokescreen38 Beginner Training Area (Aircraft-Electric) 16 Dec 03, 2005 06:30 PM
Dymond Simm-Prop charger cut off when TX on? Red Baron 47 Electric Plane Talk 4 Jul 18, 2001 05:21 PM
Motor shuts off Red Baron 47 Power Systems 2 Jun 14, 2001 07:01 AM