Feb 13, 2006, 01:23 PM
Thread OP
Discussion

Robbe Comtesse

I hope this brief summary of my first ever yacht build may be of help to any other newbie looking for a simple kit.

I have never tried sailing before and wanted a "quick build" yacht kit for a rank beginner.
My wife suggested that once I had found the model I wanted, she would "allow" me to order it as her Christmas present to me. (Really nice!)

The Kyosho Fair-Wind seems very popular for a beginner with many references to it in this forum. However, over here there now seems to be a problem with future imports and getting spares for it.
The cost of the Robbe kit plus fittings is also appreciably cheaper than the comparable Kyosho Fairwind over here.

After much research and listening to all sorts of advice, I chose the Robbe Comtesse. It is approx 1m in length, the mast height being 1.5m. It has been around for a while but to my mind is now a bargain.

I have not seen the Comtesse featured much on this forum, so am posting a few pics. of my first ever yacht build in case anyone else is considering this model.

Insofar as the "kit" is concerned, I would not hesitate to recommend it for a beginner. The hull is a complete moulding in some form of very dense plastic material.All that needs doing is cutting out the cockpit area.
The mast and booms are all of aluminium - just some drillimg of various holes needed - all easily done with the superb plan and instructions.
The sails are ?Dacron? needing no work at all - flat packed in the box - no curling up of the material.
A few plywood (cnc cut) internal parts and servo tray.
Stabilit Express is the recommended glue and it seems to have worked very well.
I built it over about 10 days - much of the time spent in painting and finishing the hull.
The quality of the kit and instructions supplied is superb. The only variation I made was to add a pair of Robbe "bottle screws" to the two main mast shrouds and bought graphite/lead shot for the (hollow) keel ballast.