Jun 06, 2002, 12:01 AM
Thread OP

Questions about my wally B-36...I'm new to foam.

This is progressing slowly, I also have a 44" ws airtractor I'm piddling with while I wait for a new charger. (long story)

Just wondering whether anyone can tell me of something lighter to use as filler on my wingroot to fuse joint? I don't relish the thought of a quarter inch of spackle!!
I was also thinking about a way of attaching some dummy jet pods to the outer wings in such a way that they will hang on securely after hand launching, but detach, or "give" on landing.
Any ideas? (May never get that far..who knows?)

I'm waiting to get the first flight (or more likely, powered glide) before I finish the 6 engine nacells and paint the upper wing.

How in the world does carving out a 1" section of foam result in a square foot of foam 'fluff'?

One more thought. Have you noticed that with the added taper of the wally glider wing , it has an almost C-47 type taper?
HMMMMmmm.

to remove ads between posts
Jun 10, 2002, 10:18 PM
Rather than a 1/4" of spackle, build up some layers of foam that are curved as needed. Go light on the epoxy....enough to bond but not add too much weight.
Mount the engines{jet pods} like a wing....small dowels and rubber bands{small ones}.
Last edited by Scratchbuilder; Jun 10, 2002 at 10:21 PM.
Jun 10, 2002, 10:31 PM
Heli Bouncer
The early prototypes of the B36 had no jet booster engines.
My father worked in a refinery near the Consolidated plant in the 40's and he thought the B36 was the most god-awful noise maker ever produced. I wonder if the pusher props on the full scale plane had the same TE interference racket that the Zagi has?
BTW nice plane, I'm planning one too.

Looee
Jun 10, 2002, 10:41 PM
Thread OP