Honey Bee II FP Owners, gather around.... - Page 101 - RC Groups
Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Thread Tools
Sep 11, 2006, 11:21 PM
Registered User
JustPlaneChris's Avatar
I have a Polk Seeker6 synthesized receiver in my FP2.

Here is a link with more info.

-Chris
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Sep 11, 2006, 11:45 PM
OOps! wrong button ;x
Sep 12, 2006, 04:53 AM
Rotary~myPast,Present &Future!
Quote:
Originally Posted by dave49749
thank you!
Now one more:
what Rx is everyone using, so I can get an idea of sizes.
Thanks
GWS have a wide range of receiver, pretty affordable too. The size does vary a bit, but you should be getting a 6-Channel RX in case you need to move on to CP or if you would like to put wheels retracts on your HB FP in future.

Sorry folks, I'm posing my FP2 again, this time with Real air vents. The 1st picture is the FP2 with holes cut out at the side before I put the 'fencing' on. -terence
Sep 12, 2006, 01:15 PM
BUT I NEED IT!
dave49749's Avatar
I have been thinking, I have a tendency to overcomplicate things and I am starting to think this of one of those things. Somewhere in the thread it is said the beauty of this bird is that it’s simple and easy and here I am taking that quality away.
I have never flow a helicopter and here I am worrying about a helicopter radio Rx servos etc…all the while the Honey Bee sit upon a shelf somewhere and not in my hands….
Besides I have a HLG I want to build as well………

Now I have been a pain but I think should simply buy the RTF set up and some LIPOS and get my A@@ out flying.

Can one learn on the included TX, it is decent enough to at least allow me to evaluate my Helicopter future?

If not I can always use my Laser 6, ahhhhhhhh now I can still buy the bare bones helicopter and use that TX for now how simple.

Now a different Question I have a Micro 05MS 5 CH Rx can I still buy the 3 in 1 and use that rx?

I must say this very helpful thread.
Thanks
Dave
Don’t tell anyone but if I was not messing around I could have been flying, or in this case crashing….
Sep 12, 2006, 01:30 PM
out of the western sky...
Skyking213's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by dave49749
I have been thinking, I have a tendency to overcomplicate things and I am starting to think this of one of those things. Somewhere in the thread it is said the beauty of this bird is that it’s simple and easy and here I am taking that quality away.
I have never flow a helicopter and here I am worrying about a helicopter radio Rx servos etc…all the while the Honey Bee sit upon a shelf somewhere and not in my hands….
Besides I have a HLG I want to build as well………

Now I have been a pain but I think should simply buy the RTF set up and some LIPOS and get my A@@ out flying.

Can one learn on the included TX, it is decent enough to at least allow me to evaluate my Helicopter future?

If not I can always use my Laser 6, ahhhhhhhh now I can still buy the bare bones helicopter and use that TX for now how simple.

Now a different Question I have a Micro 05MS 5 CH Rx can I still buy the 3 in 1 and use that rx?

I must say this very helpful thread.
Thanks
Dave
Don’t tell anyone but if I was not messing around I could have been flying, or in this case crashing….
Dave,
There is nothing inheritly bad about the "stock" esky Tx...
Works just fine and has a certain simple charm about it, I think...
I have mine on a Spektrum DX6 now, but only because I like to fly at my house or a job site at lunch, office building atriums ect. I wanted to avoid all the concern about interference and shoot downs.
Oh, did I say I live and work in Los Angeles.
But I "learned" basic tail in hover on the "stock" Tx...
ScottB
Sep 13, 2006, 03:44 AM
Rotary~myPast,Present &Future!

RX and 3-In-1 combos?


Quote:
Originally Posted by dave49749
Now a different Question I have a Micro 05MS 5 CH Rx can I still buy the 3 in 1 and use that rx?
Dave, if your 3-in-1 refers to the Gyro, Speed-controller & mixer picoboard, I don't see why there is any problem to hook it up to your 5 CH Rx. The 3 in 1's BEC will power your Rx fine and your Rx Chanel 3 & 4 leads goes to the 3-In-1 where its in-built mixer does the linear mixing of the throttle signal into the rudder. This is assuming your model is fixed pitch with a main motor and a tail motor.

For a pure collective-pitch model, depending on the kind of tail rotor and its pitch control, you may have to go full separates as you may need to use Channel 4 signal for the rudder servo (such as in a belt-driven tail system). For such a collective tail rotor setup, we have no choice but to bypass the 3-In-1's in-built mixer and in-built tail ESC, we need pure rudder signal from your RX instead.

-Terence
Sep 13, 2006, 12:11 PM
BUT I NEED IT!
dave49749's Avatar
Thank you for all the help.
Sep 14, 2006, 09:19 AM
mem
mem
Registered User
mem's Avatar

Is the 2.5 amp tail fuse mod necessary?


Has anyone ever blown a fuse on the tail or damaged the tail ESC in an unfused HB?
I am about to do the main motor fuse and wonder if there is any evidence of a stalled tail motor drawing more current then the 4 in 1 can handle.
Sep 14, 2006, 10:06 AM
Registered User
JustPlaneChris's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by mem
Has anyone ever blown a fuse on the tail or damaged the tail ESC in an unfused HB?
I am about to do the main motor fuse and wonder if there is any evidence of a stalled tail motor drawing more current then the 4 in 1 can handle.
Yes, yes, and yes. Do the mod.

-Chris
Sep 14, 2006, 11:04 AM
Registered User
ktm520's Avatar
i agree with chris, i have blown a tail fuse in the past.
Sep 14, 2006, 03:52 PM
mem
mem
Registered User
mem's Avatar
Thanks guys, I will do the mod.
Sep 14, 2006, 09:50 PM
Registered User
I seem to be burning through the batteries in my transmitter at a pretty good rate, and with 8 batteries it's a bit of a pain to keep throwing new ones in there. I noticed there is a plug in for a power adapter; what's the story with this? Can I purchase a a certain battery pack that will work with the transmitter, or should I just switch to rechargeable batteries?
Sep 14, 2006, 09:55 PM
Registered User
JustPlaneChris's Avatar
I converted mine to a rechargable nicad pack (using the pack from my JR 9303 after I upgraded it to a bigger Nimh pack). Note that the charge jack is "JR polarization", meaning it is opposite from the Futaba charge jack polarity.

Just open up the transmitter, unsolder the wires from the little metal clips that make contact with the battery holder, and solder in a servo connector (or Deans micro, or JST... whatever you've got handy) so you can easily remove the battery pack. I guess you don't even have to do that, you could "hard wire" it in.

If you need a transmitter pack, check out www.cheapbatterypacks.com. That's where I get all my big TX packs.

-Chris
Sep 14, 2006, 10:30 PM
Registered User
Thanks Chris. Looks like they're all out of stock for now, but I'll keep an eye out for em.

Finally got some new blades so I can fly again. The grey GWS blades are a real bargain at $7 for 6 blades. They seem sturdy, and the light grey color makes them easy to track.
Sep 14, 2006, 10:31 PM
Registered User
JustPlaneChris's Avatar
Darnit, I keep intending to order some of those from Tower Hobbies, but until I break the blades I've got I can't seem to justify it.

-Chris


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Heli Derect L/G on Honey Bee II FP? Wren1702 Micro Helis 12 Feb 28, 2009 04:35 PM
Discussion Honey Bee II FP Owners V2.... Wren1702 Micro Helis 10821 Feb 29, 2008 10:42 AM
Discussion 'Thinking about a Honey Bee II FP. I've never flown anything... Greg H. Micro Helis 15 Nov 17, 2007 01:18 PM
Sold Esky Honey Bee II FP Mk3 SOLD 34Ford Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 3 Jan 08, 2007 07:03 PM
Cool The HB II FP Owners gather around thread... IDEA! Slyster Micro Helis 17 Dec 23, 2006 01:48 AM