Starting PC Power Supply (AT) - RC Groups
Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Thread Tools
Dec 12, 2005, 01:58 PM
Registered User
Question

Starting PC Power Supply (AT)


Hi all!

I have an AT style PC Power supply. I used to use the entire computer it came from as a power supply simply tapping power from it (it was useless for anything else). This summer i had to move and threw the computer away only keeping the power supply to save space.

Now I want to start to use this PSU again, but I can not figure out how to start it. I've read at least 10 tutorials but none of them tells me what to do with the four wires the went to the power switch when the unit was installed in a computer. The colours are white, black, blue and brown. I suppose I want to short two of them to simulate me pressing the power button on the computer?

I hope my question was clear enough!

- David
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Dec 12, 2005, 05:03 PM
Master of 1 point landing
An AT power supply or ATX? AT's generally stay on by themselves for an atx - jumper the plug as shown (red lines)
Dec 12, 2005, 05:23 PM
Registered User
You can either short the wires or add a DPST switch.

The wires are:

Brown and Blue: Live and neutral feed wires coming from the 120v power cord to the power supply. When the power supply is plugged in, these will be HOT.

Black and White: These carry the AC feed back to the power supply when the switch is turned on.

Brown ------------->Black
............SWITCH.............
Blue --------------->White

When the switch is ON, Brown shorts to Black, Blue shorts to White.

Hope this helps.
Dec 13, 2005, 03:05 AM
Registered User
Exactly what I was looking for, thanks a lot!

Now, where's my soldering iron

- David

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew0820

Brown ------------->Black
............SWITCH.............
Blue --------------->White

When the switch is ON, Brown shorts to Black, Blue shorts to White.

Hope this helps.
Dec 13, 2005, 04:16 AM
Fidler & twidler
empeabee's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by bergfalke4
Exactly what I was looking for, thanks a lot!

Now, where's my soldering iron

- David
Some AT PSU's need a load on the 5v to keep it going - a 10w auto lamp should do it.
Mike
Dec 13, 2005, 12:26 PM
Registered User
It works! I had to put a 8 ohm 10 watt resistor between 5 volt and ground to increase and stabilise the voltage. I'm really happy, thanks for all advice!

- David
Dec 13, 2005, 04:01 PM
Fidler & twidler
empeabee's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by bergfalke4
It works! I had to put a 8 ohm 10 watt resistor between 5 volt and ground to increase and stabilise the voltage. I'm really happy, thanks for all advice!

- David
good
Dec 13, 2005, 05:21 PM
Registered User
this worked for me with an atx style psp

https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=368639
Dec 23, 2005, 09:27 PM
Registered User
zbend's Avatar
I have a Compaq supply, series PDP-115. I can't get it to start. It has a different plug from the one in the above post, two rows of 7 pins,Marked P1,a 4 pin marked P2, and then 2 4 Pin in series. It has 5v and 3v, but no 12v and the fan does not run. Does someone know how to start this one. Thanks Mike
Dec 23, 2005, 10:08 PM
just look at it smokin'
z-matrix's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by ImaBiggles
An AT power supply or ATX? AT's generally stay on by themselves for an atx - jumper the plug as shown (red lines)
i was only using ps_on (green) to ground and it worked perfectly...
Dec 24, 2005, 03:25 PM
Registered User
zbend's Avatar

Compaq PS


I got the compaq to work and it will run my Apache 2500 OK. The green wire is +5v. I jumped it to the white wire and the +12v would come on but it would cycle on and off at about 1hz. Put a 10 ohm load on the 5v as some one suggested and the power supply is stable although the cooling fan does not run. Nothing got hot while I charged a 1300 2cell. I am happy and thanks to all on this thread.

Mike
Dec 24, 2005, 03:47 PM
Fidler & twidler
empeabee's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by zbend
I got the compaq to work and it will run my Apache 2500 OK. The green wire is +5v. I jumped it to the white wire and the +12v would come on but it would cycle on and off at about 1hz. Put a 10 ohm load on the 5v as some one suggested and the power supply is stable although the cooling fan does not run. Nothing got hot while I charged a 1300 2cell. I am happy and thanks to all on this thread.

Mike
Glad we helped.
Mike
Dec 24, 2005, 03:54 PM
Fly it like you stole it..
Tram's Avatar
I always just plug an old hardrive into the PSU and it thinks it's up and running..
Apr 26, 2016, 09:03 AM
Registered User
how to convert hp power supply D8520-69001 and D8520-63001
Apr 26, 2016, 07:57 PM
Registered User
vollrathd's Avatar
Wow
The last posting in this thread is from 2005!


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to make own Power supply at home? convert from PC power supply? HumbleBoss Batteries and Chargers 16 May 01, 2016 02:13 PM
Help! PC Power Supply AT the same as ATX? Craig Mckinley Batteries and Chargers 3 May 21, 2007 02:56 AM
Discussion Guides for converting AT PC power supply RevoAirsoftKid Batteries and Chargers 23 Feb 18, 2007 12:25 AM
Resistors for AT Pc power supply conversion? Willard Batteries and Chargers 10 Aug 05, 2005 08:00 PM
PC Power Supply Configuration Exis Power Systems 6 Oct 10, 2001 04:29 PM