May 26, 2002, 05:03 PM
Gromit,Rebel w\o applause
Thread OP

t-ifo's the best trainer type plane

I have been flying RC for 2 years, all electric, and have flown many different planes. The problem is always the same, I want to fly but not drive to a school or field to fly, besides by the time I get off work, eat and load up everything, the wind comes up or there is 20 kids playing there. I decided that my back yard is now big enough to fly in (45X60) with trees, hedges,powerlines,a shed ect,. Yes, I tell myself its Big enough, sure it is. So I decide that a IFO has the best chance of survival. My radio dosen't have v-tail mixing and I don't want to spend more money on a mixer so I ordered the t-ifo from Dan at wild r/c. It was here in 2 days. Anyway I took it to a big field for the maiden flight, it flew great except it needed more control throw, when I got home I adjusted it for max throw and took it out back, what a blast, it turns in a foot or 2 and is so manuverable I can dodge all the obsticles,( most of the time) and when it hit things I just pick it up and let it rip, no damage. Now when the urge hits I fly in the back yard and over the roof. What a great plane.
Jim
to remove ads between posts
May 26, 2002, 07:18 PM
Balsa Builder
Jim, sounds like a good deal. The other great thing about the IFO's is the fact that if you do dork them into something, they are very durable. I was flying a mini IFO inside a gym and while trying to pitch it straight up I kept flipping it on its back (2 ft or less in the air) and kept coming down on the ground (flying it on 7.2 volt lithiums so I didn't have much power for good hovering) the motor got shoved around, but just a quick adjustment and I was back in the air.

--Paul
May 27, 2002, 03:38 PM
I've got a Trainer IFO as well. If you can't fly this plane, you won't be able to fly any other plane out there! It is easy to fly, fun and durable (especially when covered in ripstop). Highly recommended.

Regards,
wattsup