Birth of a Blackburn Buccaneer! - RC Groups
Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
May 14, 2002, 01:24 PM
My cat up close

Birth of a Blackburn Buccaneer!

I started drawing up plans to build a 480 speed pusher/Gunther prop. powered Blackburn Buccaneer.
Anyone else ever attempt this design?
Here is a picture of my rough drawings on wall lining paper.

Matt.
to remove ads between posts
May 15, 2002, 03:07 AM

Buccanier

Hi!
I'm not sure if my case is the one you asked for but... some time ago I built and flown PSS Buccanier. It was made of Depron, with flat fuselage (the original shape is somewhat complex),slightly enlarged wing and tail (wingspan was 1m, airframe weight just 300 grams, 450 with electronic equipement). Model flew very well, but it was lost in accident when flying horizontal stabilizer just flew out. Just before this accident I planned to put S400 in nose.
I'm really interested in progress of your project, so please, keep us informed!
Regards,

Wiktor
May 15, 2002, 03:49 PM
My cat up close
Hello Wiktor,
Nice to know someone else has modelled this great British aircraft besides myself!
I have been working on the model today,only started drawing the plans yesterday,it has now progressed to the fuselage being half built!
At this rate,I expect it will be completed in a couple of weeks.
I plan to use a brushless motor for best performance from a hand launch.Should fly very well,as long as I can keep the empty model weight around 6 oz.
Here is a picture of progress so far:
PS I know the grain is the wrong way around on the fin,it will be altered later.

Matt.
May 17, 2002, 07:25 AM
Master
Matt

As a great lover of British heavy metal I am knocked out by your Buccaneer project.

On your plan the motor is quite a distance from the CG, so I think the idea of going to brushless (e.g. the small Hacker) is very valid as it could avoid balancing problems.

Best of luck with your project.
May 17, 2002, 10:12 AM

Great looking Buccaneer

Matt