Sep 29, 2005, 10:12 AM

Gentle Lady pics from all over the U.S.

I have been flying my new Gentle Lady for about 4 months all over the U.S. I built it especially to travel. The main wings comes apart into two pieces and the tail is a full-flying horizontal stab that is removeable. The whole thing fits into a cardboard box that can be checked on commercial airplane flights. It has traveled back and forth across the country several times with no damage so far.

I added flaps that I modded into combination speed-brakes/flaps. They do a great job of safely dropping the plane into a very tight space for landing. The motor started out as a speed 400 with 4:1 planetary gearbox, but I have upgraded to a speed 600 and it now has a 3:1 planetary gearbox. That has really helped the high altiitude flying. I have a Pencam SD with a switch from Mr RC-Cam in it.

I have been very happy with most of the pics from this setup. The Pencam very much likes bright light, so I gave up trying to capture images late or early in the day with that camera.

Below are some of the better images I have taken in the last four months. If anyone is thinking of a good, inexpensive AP ship, this is the way to go.

Chris
to remove ads between posts
Sep 29, 2005, 10:15 AM
These pics were taken in June and August in Carr Canyon in the Huachuca mountains in Arizona at about 7000 feet.
Sep 29, 2005, 10:18 AM
These images were taken at Coronado National Monument on the border with Mexico in June. The parking area at the top makes a great place to launch and slope soar on either side of the pass.

Opps. Photo #2 is from Carr Canyon, about 10 miles north of Coronado.
Last edited by chrisgood; Sep 29, 2005 at 11:44 AM.
Sep 29, 2005, 10:20 AM
These images were taken at Chiricahua National Monument in Arizona at about 7000 feet.
Last edited by chrisgood; Sep 29, 2005 at 11:42 AM.
Sep 29, 2005, 10:23 AM