Sep 28, 2005, 11:29 PM
Thread OP

Need help with turning OS MAX-H 40

I need some help in turning an old OS MAX-H engine that i got from a friend. It starts fine at any throttle position but once it try to advance the throttle the engine stops in a couple of seconds. It seems a bit better if I keep the slow starter on. Also if I run it on max RPM I can close the throttle and open it back but if I let the engine to run on medium or low RPM it will die once I move the throttle forward. I use OS A3 glow plug. I am new to the glow engines and appreciate any advice.
Thank you.
to remove ads between posts
Sep 29, 2005, 12:58 AM
are you using this Heli engine on an airplane?
does it still have the big, square heat sink type head?

-Joe
Sep 29, 2005, 10:07 AM
Thread OP
This is an airplane engine. It has regular head and carburetor with one needle and two screws.
Sep 29, 2005, 11:24 AM
S.A.D. member
Sounds like too rich - close the high end needle a bit. Do it while the engine is running with the glow driver attached. BTW, I'd use an A5 or #8 glowplug.
Sep 29, 2005, 11:41 PM
These are a really great old engine and they came in many different versions for both C/L and RC. Some had a single rear ball race while others were twin ball raced.

If you're using a new plug then I'd say it's just a tuning problem and most likely the low speed mix. Go to full throttle and tune it somewhat on the rich side, try for a quite perceptible drop in revs. Then go to idle for a couple of seconds and pinch the fuel line closed. If it starts dying out immediately then the low speed mix is too lean (which is what I think may be wrong at the moment). If it keeps running and gains revs for a few seconds before dying out then it's a bit rich.