Thread Tools
Old Aug 19, 2005, 10:09 AM
markmm is offline
Find More Posts by markmm
Registered User

4 Blade props and spinner


Does anyone know where I can buy 4 blade electric props and spinners?

Something 11" or smaller, but with higher pitch if possible.

I've found a few places that sell electric 4 blade props, but to get a decent pitch, the blades are huge (13+").

I also need a 2" spinner for 4 blade props.

Any ideas?
Last edited by markmm; Aug 19, 2005 at 10:46 AM.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 19, 2005, 10:16 AM
pda4you is offline
Find More Posts by pda4you
Registered User
pda4you's Avatar
GWS makes this one...
http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXHHZ3&P=7

And someone else makes a 8x8 or something like that. But that is it...
https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...ghlight=c+119+

Then if you have money you can get VArio....
http://www.aircraft-world.com/shopdi...variable+pitch

Mike
Old Aug 19, 2005, 10:35 AM
markmm is offline
Find More Posts by markmm
Registered User
Thanks.

The 10X8 actually keeps most of the flight characteristics I had with a larger 2 blade prop (in motocalc).

I noticed that the GWS uses a 5.5mm nut (0.2165354 inch)....and my motor shaft is 1/4" (.25 inch).

Anything special I need to do to get it to work with my motor? Drill it out to accept 1/4"?

In addition, who makes a 4 blade spinner to match that prop?
Last edited by markmm; Aug 19, 2005 at 10:45 AM.
Old Aug 19, 2005, 10:49 AM
pda4you is offline
Find More Posts by pda4you
Registered User
pda4you's Avatar
markmm....what is the application for this?

Yes you can drill/reem it out, but I would not put significant juice through the GWS props...

Mike
Old Aug 19, 2005, 11:04 AM
markmm is offline
Find More Posts by markmm
Registered User
I'm redesigning a P51 to make it a scale "H" model and I need a 4 blade prop and spinner.

I found one person that put a four blade (APC) on the exact model (though he kept the model a "D" version for the most part). I PM'd him in hopes he could point me in the right direction.

4 blades obviously are not that popular, but this has to be scale, so I need the four blader.

I'm open to other 4 blade props...I just can't seem to find them...yet.
Old Aug 19, 2005, 11:08 AM
pda4you is offline
Find More Posts by pda4you
Registered User
pda4you's Avatar
How many ams/watts are you going to be putting into the power system. That is my question. GWS does make a 4 blade prop.

They are not very popular in RC application due to the way our power systems work. Typically they are less efficient than their two part counterparts.

What I am getting at here is that is a slowflier prop, and can't take significant power before it would fly apart!

Mike
Old Aug 19, 2005, 11:19 AM
markmm is offline
Find More Posts by markmm
Registered User
Putting in 20-25 amps, 220-262 watts. Of course I could be wrong...I'm still new to this and I'm still finding my way around motocalc, but that's what I'm finding the amps/watts are.

I understand that 4 blade props are less efficient. But this MUST be scale...I won't settle for anything less than scale on this build (within reason of course).
Old Aug 19, 2005, 11:20 AM
pda4you is offline
Find More Posts by pda4you
Registered User
pda4you's Avatar
No way can you use the GWS prop, maybe to 10-11 amps, but I would not go above that.

You will need to use the Vario system. Since it must be scale the price should not be an issue!

Mike
Old Aug 19, 2005, 11:30 AM
markmm is offline
Find More Posts by markmm
Registered User
I looked at the Vario stuff, but it is a bit confusing. Do you buy each blade seperately and assemble it?

I didn't see any 4 blade configurations...it all looked like individual blades.

I just looked again. It does appear that you install and adjust each blade. But they only have hubs for 6.0mm shafts and the shaft on my motor is 6.35mm.
Last edited by markmm; Aug 19, 2005 at 11:37 AM.
Old Aug 19, 2005, 11:40 AM
diver don is offline
Find More Posts by diver don
"Each Day Is A Lesson"
diver don's Avatar
Look at the hubs pick 4 bladed then just buy 4 blades of the proper length. CK. Aircraft-World.com What motor has a 6.35 motor shaft? DD
Old Aug 19, 2005, 11:41 AM
pda4you is offline
Find More Posts by pda4you
Registered User
pda4you's Avatar
Yes you buy a hub for two three or four blades. Then you buy individual blades to go in the "holes" on the hub.

So you need a 4 blade hub, 4 of the same blades and then it allows you to select the Pitch you want! Very cool.....

Mike
Old Aug 19, 2005, 11:45 AM
diver don is offline
Find More Posts by diver don
"Each Day Is A Lesson"
diver don's Avatar
Cool but, mounting a spinner on the 6B Hub can be a problem.DD
Old Aug 19, 2005, 11:50 AM
pdawg is offline
Find More Posts by pdawg
Need 4 Speed!
pdawg's Avatar
Zinger propellers makes a wide selection of 3 and 4 blade props. They work well and the shape of the blades have a scale appearance.

http://www.zingerpropeller.com/
Old Aug 19, 2005, 11:53 AM
markmm is offline
Find More Posts by markmm
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by diver don
Look at the hubs pick 4 bladed then just buy 4 blades of the proper length. CK. Aircraft-World.com What motor has a 6.35 motor shaft? DD

Astro 020 803G...it has a 1/4" (6.35mm) shaft.
Old Aug 19, 2005, 11:55 AM
markmm is offline
Find More Posts by markmm
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdawg
Zinger propellers makes a wide selection of 3 and 4 blade props. They work well and the shape of the blades have a scale appearance.

http://www.zingerpropeller.com/
Will any of their props work with electric?


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3 or 4 blade props to solve a problem? mad mike Sport Planes 3 Apr 17, 2003 01:09 AM
FS: GWS Spinners for 3- and 4-Blade props. GoEFlight Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 0 Nov 19, 2002 10:48 PM
FS: GWS Spinners for 3- and 4-Blade Props GoEFlight Vendor Talk 0 Nov 19, 2002 10:46 PM
4-blade props Viper Pilot Power Systems 0 Jul 15, 2002 11:11 AM
3 and 4 blade Props for GWS Zero. Electriflight Parkflyers 4 May 17, 2002 09:50 AM