Jan 12, 2022, 12:08 PM
Thread OP
Question

What are "Flight Modes" and why are they used?

Honestly, I've never used flight modes, despite having been flying R/C for over 50 years. I'm looking for a new transmitter (to augment my Spektrum DX-9) and I'm trying to decide what qualities I need in a transmitter.

I'm not anti-technology (I say as I type on my Linux/Ubuntu laptop); I just don't understand what all the interest is in 'flight modes'.

CD
to remove ads between posts
Jan 12, 2022, 05:14 PM
Ronaldo Nogueira
Good question, I also had no idea of what it was but found the video below which provided some enlightenment.
As a 3D/XA pilot I still see no reason to use flight modes, actually I don't even use rates (I fly in full rates from take off till landing) but I can understand it may be useful for some other types of flying.
Ronaldo
(11/12) FrSky TARANIS Radio – Using Flight Modes and Global Variables (GV/GVR) (13 min 54 sec)
Jan 12, 2022, 06:13 PM
Thread OP
Thank you, Ronaldo, but I can't get the video to run on my computer as it freezes Firefox.

I did some more Googling today and found what I think is an explanation of Flight Modes, written by Andy Kunz and posted by someone I think was a flying friend back in 1975-78 time frame.

https://www.lakesawyerhawks.org/all_..._tech_tips.php

Honestly, I don't see why my wife and I would need flight modes. We're simple sport fliers, we haven't had a model with retracts since 1983, nor do we use flaps.

CD

CD
Jan 12, 2022, 06:55 PM
Ronaldo Nogueira
Thanks, kind of what I was imagining, not really applicable to my flying style.
I simply don't like the idea and I don't think I would have time to flip switches during flight.
I do use a couple of mixes and curves but they are all fixed (not tied to a switch).
Ronaldo
Jan 12, 2022, 07:22 PM
Thread OP