Easy way to find C.G. - RC Groups
May 02, 2002, 08:13 AM

Easy way to find C.G.

I am not the sharpest tool in the shed so I wanted to find the c.g. for my plane...I am a Biology teacher and I asked our Physics teacher how he would find the C. G. for my airplane. He said the easest way to do it is...
1. Tie a heavy object to a string
2. Put a pin in one wing (did not want to put a hole in my plane so you can hold it up with two fingers so it can swing freely, does not matter where, I like the top of the wing)
3. Where your finger is hold the string with the heavy object hanging like a swing. and draw a line where the string crosses the plane.
4. Do the same thing to the other wing and where these lines cross there is your C.G.
* I dont know how to put more than one pic on a thread so I have them numbered as the steps are...what do people think of this way.....?
This pic is pic 1
to remove ads between posts
May 02, 2002, 08:14 AM

Picture 2

Pic 2
May 02, 2002, 08:16 AM

Picture 3

Pic 3
May 02, 2002, 08:17 AM

Pic 4

Picture 4
May 02, 2002, 08:18 AM

Pic 5

Picture 5
May 02, 2002, 09:08 AM
Sure enough. That worked great on an old 400X with the battery in it. It crossed exactly at 8". Very cool. I need to try this with all of my other wings. I had to keep the battery in it, otherwise it wound up at 10 inches or so.
Last edited by mtayl; May 02, 2002 at 09:12 AM.
May 02, 2002, 09:19 AM
Where the superimposed red line is and the ribbon is exactly 8". (My bottom spar is a bit forward)
Last edited by mtayl; May 02, 2002 at 09:24 AM.
May 02, 2002, 09:22 AM
I just had a thought though. Let us assume that you build a new wing with no instructions. There are calculations to figure out where the CG should be. This will only show you where it is, not where it needs to be. Right?

Even so, this is a lot more accurate for me than balancing it on my fingers.
May 02, 2002, 09:30 AM

Yep