Nov 27, 2021, 05:25 PM
Thread OP
Question

motor shielding question

I am in the middle of a build and getting wiring and servos laid out and I am getting servo interference from a brushed motor.
This is the motor in question.
https://www.servocity.com/127-rpm-mini-econ-gear-motor/
My question is how can I shield the servo wires or is there some way to suppress the interference at the motor?
I'm not an expert in electrickery but isn't there some capacitor, resistor or diode that you can solder across the motor leads to suppress the signal?
Any help greatly appreciated.
to remove ads between posts
Nov 27, 2021, 05:34 PM
I don't want to "Switch Now"
Quote:
Originally Posted by beazld
I am in the middle of a build and getting wiring and servos laid out and I am getting servo interference from a brushed motor.
This is the motor in question.
https://www.servocity.com/127-rpm-mini-econ-gear-motor/
My question is how can I shield the servo wires or is there some way to suppress the interference at the motor?
I'm not an expert in electrickery but isn't there some capacitor, resistor or diode that you can solder across the motor leads to suppress the signal?
Any help greatly appreciated.
Three capacitors work best, one between each lead and one from each lead to the motor case.
IIRC, 0.047uF ceramic was pretty common.

I will dig a bit and see if I can find a thread....

What radio are you using that is affected by motor noise? 2.4 should be fairly immune.
Nov 27, 2021, 05:40 PM
Two cap example, 473 = .047

The diode is there to prevent damage to the ESC.

https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...r#post20664891
Nov 27, 2021, 06:15 PM
I have a few hundred of the capacitors if you need 3

Don
Nov 27, 2021, 06:30 PM
Thread OP