Sep 23, 2021, 02:06 AM
Thread OP
Discussion

Computer printing of rib shapes

Hi Guys
I want to build a model called Chilli Wind, by Mike Delacole. I have the plan but it only shows root and tip profiles for the wing, assuming using a foam wing.
I want to do a built up wing so I need profiles for the intermediate ribs.
It has been suggested I use either Profili or Compufoil, but I am a computer novice and don't even know where to start with either of these.
Could someone please give me a simple (I mean really simple) guide to how to do this?
Thanks
Jeff
to remove ads between posts
Sep 23, 2021, 07:07 AM
This gets discussed often in Modeling Science and Balsa Builders. I recommend having your thread moved to one of those forums.

Andy
Sep 23, 2021, 07:43 AM
Thread OP
Hi Andy, good point.
Wonder if one of the moderators could move this to the balsa builders forum?
Thanks
Jeff
Sep 23, 2021, 08:04 AM
Click on "Report this thread to the moderator"
Sep 23, 2021, 10:19 AM
Duane, LSF IV
This can also be done in XFLR5, if you have the airfoil coordinates for both root and tip.

If you just have a drawing on the plans for the two ribs, do it old school, like this:
https://www.airfieldmodels.com/infor...ribs/index.htm
Sep 23, 2021, 11:13 AM
B for Bruce
I think you're looking at the old stacked rib template method unless the plan or article specifies what the airfoil truly is. A lot of these designs used airfoils drawn around french curves or done by the TLAR method or taken off previous successful designs. The computer option would only work for you if the airfoil on the Chilli Wind is a "brand name" type with proper name and coordinates.
Sep 23, 2021, 11:41 AM
Pro Hoarder
Yea I would just go old school. Use the two ribs as templates..just stack balsa blanks and sand to match the profile. You can make them 1/16th over size than you can sand the edges square after
Latest blog entry: In flight
Sep 23, 2021, 01:24 PM
Thread OP
Hi Guys, thanks

Wazmo and Turbonut