Sep 22, 2021, 05:01 AM
Thread OP
Discussion

Freewing 90mm EDF 1900Kv not producing specified thrust

Hi everyone. I am new to RC and would like some advice if possible. I may have mentioned this query slightly in another forum but decided to make a separate post. I am using the following components to test the static thrust of my edf:

1. EDF - Freewing 90mm 1900kv https://www.rc-castle.com/index.php?...roduct_id=8798
2. ESC - Castle Phoenix Edge 200A 32V ESC With 5A BEC https://www.rc-castle.com/index.php?...roduct_id=8798
3. Transmitter - Spektrum DX6I
4. Reciever - Orange 2.4ghz DSM2
5. 6S Battery - It is currently out of my possession, I can't recall the name but it is Chinese.

I omitted the spring-balance set up as that is not particularly related to the problem.

The EDF specifies 4kg of static thrust on the website. However, we were only getting 3.1kg of thrust at full throttle. On a whim, we connected a servo tester and recorded 3.5kg of thrust with the exact setup. This lead me to believe it may be a transmitter issue and not battery/esc related.

I would like to know of two things:
1. Has anyone perhaps encountered a similar scenario, and what did you do to resolve the issue? A user mentioned it could be an endpoint issue btw
2. Is this difference in practical and manufacturer specified edf thrust suspiciously big or is it common in RC?

Thanks
to remove ads between posts
Sep 22, 2021, 03:27 PM
There are many variables that could impact EDF performance. Most of the manufacturers use a constant power supply to test the fan, and these do not suffer from voltage sag. The quality of the battery plays a huge role. You should take the C-rating with a grain of salt. Manufacturers are often overly optimistic and the actual C-rating is around 65% of what's on the label.

Was the fan tested inside an airframe or just the fan by itself? The exhaust nozzle FSA affects thrust output.

Also, make sure you've calibrated the ESC throttle range.